Need condensate line connection help!

Old 07-10-16, 11:30 PM
T
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Need condensate line connection help!

Firstly, hello everyone, happy to be a new member here. Long story short, barrage of issues with 25 year old ac that belong to my new house. Was plumbing in a p-trap in the condensate line going away from the AH and the copper nipple that disappears into the AH housing broke loose. I have no clue of the units internal design, so i was curious if anyone could educate me on whether that nipple could/should be freely moving? Im just a standard DIYer, gloried plumber by trade with minimal HVAC experience so go easy on me, please. TIA!

Tim

Last edited by tmonahan; 07-10-16 at 11:32 PM. Reason: spelling errors
Old 07-11-16, 05:53 AM
C
Received 169 Upvotes on 137 Posts
It's probably just a bulkhead fitting that loosened up. The side of the air handler should be removable so the coils can be cleaned, so just pop it off and see why the fitting is loose.

Old 07-11-16, 03:38 PM
Group Moderator
Received 3,950 Upvotes on 3,543 Posts
Pretty rare problem. I've never had one of this fittings break loose. If you can't gain access to it..... post the make and model of the air handler and we'll see if we can help from this end.

Old 07-23-16, 07:00 PM
T
Sorry for the long response time, been working 72 hour weeks. Finally got my head inside that AH and bad news, internal drip pan is made of aluminum, welded to the walls of the unit and the welded nipple cracked off (no bulk head fitting). The insulation on the bottom of the unit is moldy too. Gonna attach pictures soon. Any advice would be appreciated. Model number: AH16-A00-1 serial number 92B-90017 made by heat controller

Old 07-23-16, 07:09 PM
Group Moderator
You may be able to change out the nipple with a PVC one.
Pictures would be helpful. http://www.doityourself.com/forum/el...-pictures.html

Old 07-23-16, 07:13 PM
J
Received 128 Upvotes on 113 Posts