Recharge a window A/C unit?

Closed Thread

  #1  
Old 08-18-16, 08:25 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question Recharge a window A/C unit?

Does anyone know of an economical way to recharge a window A/C unit with r410a refrigerant?

The story:
I was cleaning my unit, and when I unbolted the coil to clean under it, I accidentally bent the tube leading from the compressor to the exhaust coil. When I bent it back, the tube burst and all of the coolant blasted out of the lines

Now, I can braze/solder this thing back together, but I don't have a license to get refrigerant. Anything I can do here besides find a super friendly HVAC person to help? The rest of the unit is in excellent condition, though I feel I may have just turned it into a big paperweight. Suggestions besides throwing it away and buying a new one?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-18-16, 08:37 AM
S
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: WI/MN
Posts: 19,580
Received 94 Votes on 83 Posts
Anything I can do here besides find a super friendly HVAC person to help?
Welcome to the forums. Sounds like you have this figured out.
 
  #3  
Old 08-18-16, 08:59 AM
P
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 23,781
Received 638 Votes on 588 Posts
I doubt your unit has the ports for connecting to recharge. You'll need to add those in addition to fixing the broken line. Unless it's a rather new and good/expensive unit I start looking for a nearby recycling center.
 
  #4  
Old 08-18-16, 09:44 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Pilot Dane,

Correct, it doesn't have the necessary ports, but that can be fixed for a few dollars by attaching a bullet piercing valve on the cooling side line going into the compressor, right? So that plus brazing a straight connector and theoretically, all I'd need is to charge it, right? Any idea how much refrigerant a 6,000 BTU unit takes? Since r410a is kind of expensive, I think the sticking point here would be the cost and availability of the refrigerant, yes?

Is there anything else I'd need to worry about? Like, for example, the existing air that has been introduced into the lines from the leak? Would I need to do a proper evacuation, purge, and charge on this thing now? If so, it seems like that would be a dealbreaker for me. Thoughts?
 
  #5  
Old 08-18-16, 10:07 AM
F
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,495
Received 35 Votes on 27 Posts
You do not need a license or permit to purchase R-410a, look on Ebay.

Yes, you DO need to purge (with nitrogen) and into a recovery system and you DO need to use a vacuum pump to remove all the air. Adding a filter-dryer might also be a good idea.
 
  #6  
Old 08-18-16, 10:12 AM
Bob14525's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,590
Received 26 Votes on 21 Posts
I'm not an A/C tech, but I believe that R410A while not "cheap" is nowhere near as expensive as R22 refrigerant. I don't think the cost of the R410A itself will be a big factor. What will cost you is the technician's time & talent to recharge the unit. Since the system has been open to the outside environment, a vacuum will have to be drawn to purge all the air from the system. Normally, on a split A/C system, the filter/drier would also be replaced because of the moisture that would have gotten into the system. I don't know if a window A/C has a filter/drier or if it's replaceable. The tech may run into a problem knowing how much refrigerant to add to the system (unless you or he knows how much it holds), as I doubt that he will be able to hook up his gauge set to the unit.
 
  #7  
Old 08-18-16, 11:10 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,253
Received 1,122 Votes on 1,042 Posts
Unfortunately.... the administrators have adopted a policy where sealed systems details, including repair and charging, are not discussed in the forums. I do realize that the refrigerant you require can be bought without a license but it is being grouped into home A/C systems and therefore is not open for further discussion.

At this point you require some specialized equipment and would be advised to seek out a local tradesman for help.
 
Closed Thread
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: