Installing delay timer in a heatpump

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-05-17, 10:47 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 36
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Installing delay timer in a heatpump

With help from a super nice guy named Pete on this forum, I have learned my heatpump has a bad delay timer. I've received the new one he suggested. First off I'm completely DUMB when dealing with anything electrical. This is why I'm asking the question. I don't want to blow anything up after all of his hardwork helping me figure it out. I just want to make SURE that when installing the timer that the yellow (power) wire from the thermostat (coming from inside) in fact connects to the input wire on the new delay. There are 2 wires (both black) coming from from the delay. Input (24VAC) and output (Load 15AMP MAX). From what I see on the instructions, it appears the thermostat connects to input (24VAC) and the output (Load 15AMP MAX) to the contractor which goes to the capacitor. Is this correct? The instructions then go on to talk about testing for a trickle current bypass resistor T1-T3 < 1k ohm. How would test the trickle current bypass it mentions?

Thanks to anyone who can help! It's much appreciated!!

Wendy
 
  #2  
Old 05-05-17, 11:00 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,786
Received 1,326 Votes on 1,225 Posts
I'll add this to your thread.... later.

The new timer connects just like old one.
The 24vac in is the little olive green wire from the house.
The output load is the heavy yellow wire that goes to the contactor coil.

So it goes where you currently have a temporary splice.
 
  #3  
Old 05-06-17, 09:15 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 36
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks pete!!

Just wanted to verify before I blew something up!! I'll give it a go!!
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: