Air conditioner condenser fan replacement

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-30-17, 05:59 PM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Air conditioner condenser fan replacement

Does anyone know off hand what fan motor I need to buy for my old luxair ac unit? Replaced the start cap and it ran for 2 days then off. I checked fan resistance and all leads read open. I have a partial ge number, but the bracket was mounted over the plate and part is missing. Model number is so washed out I can't read it.

Number is 9kc 9gge410s. Looks like 3 wire, 3 1/4 inch long 1/2" shaft.

Thanks!
 
  #2  
Old 05-30-17, 06:58 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,425
Received 17 Votes on 14 Posts
You will need more information.

Do you have a model number for the condenser?
Does the condenser nomenclature give you any information about the fan motor?
Can you read the horsepower rpm and frame size on the motor?
 
  #3  
Old 05-30-17, 07:18 PM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Unfortunately the tag on the side is unreadable.

The motor is 1/4 hp 208-230v 1.3a

I do have a mfg. # the one I can I can read is 024-19891-0000 but the that is on the motor
 
  #4  
Old 05-30-17, 11:13 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,425
Received 17 Votes on 14 Posts
How does your motor mount to the unit?

Most just use the 4 bolts sticking out of the end of the motor but some have a welded mounting bracket.

Do you know the RPM.

They usually run around 800 rpm or around 1100rpm.


If you are just using the 4 bolts sticking out of the end of the motor, this motor and a 5 microfarad run cap should work.

4 wire universal motors wire up a little differently.
 
  #5  
Old 05-31-17, 04:57 AM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It's 1075 rpm, it mounts with a clamp arrangement onto a frame. The stud one won't work.

I will have to measure and see if it's the same size frame and maybe I could just use it.

Thanks for the replys!
 

Last edited by Nightrider0614; 05-31-17 at 05:47 AM.
  #6  
Old 05-31-17, 07:53 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,425
Received 17 Votes on 14 Posts
The motor that I posted will cost a fraction of the OEM motor but it will be longer. The shaft may also need to be cut ( although I haven't had to cut one in years).

A universal motor will have a drain plug. The plug should be in the drain hole that ends up on top of the motor. I have seen homeowners leave the plug on the bottom hole and partially fill the motor with rain water in less than one year. The motors shorted out.




A universal motor will be reversible. The air should discharge out of the top of the condenser.
 
  #7  
Old 06-03-17, 01:25 PM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thank you very much for the link and the advice! I ordered the motor you recommended and will let you know how it works out!

Thanks for the tip about the drain plug(s) I will remove them if they are in there. Or should I just leave them both in if they are plugged?

My thinking says leave the top one in but remove the bottom one?
 
  #8  
Old 06-03-17, 02:31 PM
Bob14525's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,608
Received 27 Votes on 22 Posts
As for the drain plugs, you're correct. Leave the top one in and remove the bottom one.
 
  #9  
Old 06-03-17, 08:54 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,425
Received 17 Votes on 14 Posts
Yep, I agree with Bob..............
 
  #10  
Old 06-06-17, 08:43 PM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thank you for all your help, it's up and running again!
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: