Air conditioner not blowing

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-04-17, 10:44 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 129
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Air conditioner not blowing

Hello All,

We have our thermostat set to 72 but noticed the current temp is 75. It says that it's cooling and the air conditioner condenser outside is running, but nothing is blowing through the vents.

I checked the filter and . . there isn't one

Name:  IMG_8558.jpg
Views: 832
Size:  26.9 KB

There is ice around the coil and I believe the evaporator coil is frozen.

Name:  IMG_8554.jpg
Views: 766
Size:  32.9 KB

I am only getting a solid red which that supposed means the control has 24VAC power. I checked Red/Green at the thermostat and am getting 24V as well.

Name:  IMG_8557.jpg
Views: 808
Size:  48.7 KB
Name:  IMG_8560.jpg
Views: 764
Size:  50.6 KB

The AC evaporator coil is a PT4842-C175
Name:  IMG_8555.jpg
Views: 830
Size:  39.3 KB

The water trap has gunk, but I don't see any overflowing water anywhere.
Name:  IMG_8556.jpg
Views: 752
Size:  17.9 KB

Can someone please advise what my next steps should be?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-04-17, 11:07 AM
S
Member
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 2,101
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
No filter, dirty evaporator coil. Frosted coil and then no air flow. Check the return air in the house, might be a filter behind it.
 

Last edited by skaggsje; 07-04-17 at 11:08 AM. Reason: correction
  #3  
Old 07-04-17, 11:24 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 129
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The air return filter was dirty; last replaced on 3/1/2017. I just replaced it.
Name:  IMG_8563.jpg
Views: 714
Size:  30.4 KB

What are my next steps? I should obviously buy a filter for the furnace but how do I get cool air again?
 
  #4  
Old 07-04-17, 11:59 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,193
Received 1,118 Votes on 1,038 Posts
You need to listen at the air handler and see if the blower is actually running.
If it is... the coil is frozen over. Turn the A/C off and just allow the blower to run for several hours. That should unthaw the coil. You should see a lot of water draining during the process.

The coil will freeze up from one of two reasons..... not enough airflow or low on refrigerant.
 
  #5  
Old 07-04-17, 12:24 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 129
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
How do I run the blower only?
 
  #6  
Old 07-04-17, 12:28 PM
S
Member
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 2,101
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Should be a "fan on" switch on the stat.
 
  #7  
Old 07-04-17, 01:52 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 129
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Got it.

Before flipping it back on, I looked underneath the blower and noticed that it's started to pool up water since the unit has been off.

Right side
Name:  right drip.jpg
Views: 688
Size:  36.7 KB

Left Side
Name:  left drip.jpg
Views: 682
Size:  26.7 KB

Dripping off bottom of fan
Name:  fan drip.jpg
Views: 675
Size:  22.1 KB

After I turned the fan only on, I noticed the fan spraying water.

Water spraying out of fan
Name:  fan spray.png
Views: 726
Size:  430.1 KB

I will run it like this for the next few hours.

How do I prevent this from happening again? Does the coil need to be cleaned?
 
  #8  
Old 07-04-17, 02:01 PM
S
Member
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 2,101
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Your drain line must be clogged, try cleaning it out.
 
  #9  
Old 07-04-17, 02:07 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 129
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
So the frozen coil is melting like crazy!

It is dripping into the furnace blower part of the unit and I'm afraid it's going to cause an electrical hazard. Is there anything I can do here?

Water in Furnace Part1
Name:  IMG_8590.jpg
Views: 698
Size:  41.4 KB

Water in Furnace Part2
Name:  IMG_8589.jpg
Views: 718
Size:  45.0 KB

Also, the water trap is full. I can't tell if it's draining or not.

Name:  IMG_8585.jpg
Views: 698
Size:  29.1 KB

Name:  IMG_8588.jpg
Views: 707
Size:  32.5 KB

So to summarize, do I do anything to prevent an issue with water dripping into the heating furnace part and can I do anything to get water moving out via the trap? I assume that is why water is leaking elsewhere
 
  #10  
Old 07-04-17, 02:10 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 129
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Here is the drain line. How do I unclog this? Jab a coat hanger in the top?

Name:  catch.jpg
Views: 652
Size:  20.0 KB
 
  #11  
Old 07-04-17, 02:19 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,193
Received 1,118 Votes on 1,038 Posts
Water should not be at the top of that fitting. If it is.... then the line is clogged.

Since the coil is iced up... there will be extra water that will miss the drain pain.
If there is too much water leaking.... shut the blower off and allow the ice to thaw slowly.
 
  #12  
Old 07-04-17, 02:25 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 129
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ok. Coat hanger worked. However, the unit that is supposed to pump the water out seems like it isn't working.

See attached video. https://www.dropbox.com/s/wssfqe4rl2tj05a/Video%20Jul%2004%2C%205%2018%2028%20PM.mov?dl=0
 
  #13  
Old 07-04-17, 02:30 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,193
Received 1,118 Votes on 1,038 Posts
It only pumps when it's full. In the video I see the water draining back to the unit in the clear line. That means the unit had recently pumped.

If it's not working... the water will overflow from the top.
 
  #14  
Old 07-04-17, 05:31 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 129
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
How do I prevent the from freezing like this in the future? What is this happens again?
 
  #15  
Old 07-04-17, 05:58 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,193
Received 1,118 Votes on 1,038 Posts
When the system is back to normal..... feel the air flow coming out of the registers. If it's not strong...... you need to diagnose that problem.

If it feels pretty strong you should call in a tech and have the refrigerant charge checked.
 
  #16  
Old 07-04-17, 06:55 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 129
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
So is a frozen coil a symptom of low refrigerant?
 
  #17  
Old 07-04-17, 07:12 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,193
Received 1,118 Votes on 1,038 Posts
Yes it is..........................
 
  #18  
Old 07-31-17, 08:04 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 129
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The HVAC guy is here and telling me that I am low on freon because of a probable leak. Does this make sense? He wants to push me to fix the leak. I wasn't ready for that. I was expecting to just fill the freon.
 
  #19  
Old 07-31-17, 08:21 AM
Bob14525's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,590
Received 26 Votes on 21 Posts
These are sealed systems. The only reason that you should ever need to add more refrigerant (apart from having to open the system to replace a part, e.g. evaporator, pressure switch, etc.) is because there is a leak. Whenever the system is low on refrigerant, it should be checked for leaks and repaired before more refrigerant is added. Otherwise, the refrigerant will leak out again. Also, don't let a technician talk you into adding a sealant to the system. That's a lazy man's way of trying to fix the problem with a minimum of work. The sealant may or may not temporarily stop the leak, but it likely will cause damage down the road (plugging up some of the passages or the TXV valve).
 
  #20  
Old 07-31-17, 08:57 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 129
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The unit is a 2004 but the house was built in 2006. He says I need to either replace the coils (R22 unit) or replace the whole system.

Are these my real options?
 
  #21  
Old 07-31-17, 09:09 AM
Bob14525's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,590
Received 26 Votes on 21 Posts
R22 is very expensive and gets more expensive every year because production of it is being phased out. Chances are only one of the coils (condenser or evaporator) is leaking. However the technician would have to determine where the leak is and if it's repairable or not (usually, condenser and evaporator coils are replaced, not repaired), however leaks in the lineset or fittings are repairable.

It's a tough decision, whether to replace the leaking component (assuming it's either the condenser or evaporator), or just getting a completely new system. Obviously, a new system is more expensive, but it will come with a warranty and new systems use R401A which is much cheaper than R22. If you repair the system, there's always the chance that something else (the other coil) will go bad sometime in the future. How much longer the repaired system will run is the big unknown.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: