clogged condenate p trap


  #1  
Old 08-03-18, 10:55 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 38
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
clogged condenate p trap

Hello,

I need to clean out my P trap on my air conditioner as it is clogged. Never done this before. I guess I need to cut it somewhere to clean it out, but don't know the best place to make the cut, or the best way even to go about cleaning it out. I've enclosed a pic of my system.

Regards,
RM

https://pix.sfly.com/sXCRAA
Name:  IMG_0894.jpg
Views: 4428
Size:  70.3 KB
 

Last edited by PJmax; 08-03-18 at 03:44 PM. Reason: picture posted from link
  #2  
Old 08-03-18, 12:05 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 70,072
Received 2,955 Votes on 2,666 Posts
Normally you could use a wet vac to suck the line clean from the end where it exits. But it appears you have a condensing furnace and it would just draw the water out of that trap inside the furnace.

You can cut it in between those couplers and then just replace with a new one.

You should remove the plug to the right of the line and install a threaded adapter, a 90 pointed up and a short piece of pipe with a cap. This would give you a place to pour in a 50-50 water and bleach mix to flush the line out.
 
  #3  
Old 08-03-18, 02:31 PM
P
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 28,127
Received 1,561 Votes on 1,404 Posts
Another option is to go to a home center or plumbing supply and there is a rubber boot used to attach a dishwasher drain hose to the fitting under the sink. It has a hose clamp on each end and looks like a rubber tube half is a larger diameter than the other half. Get two of those. Then cut your trap about 1" from the fittings on each end. Now clean out the trap. Now back to those two dishwasher bits. With a sharp knife cut off the smaller diameter part. The larger end should stretch to fit over the drain piping. One on each end will allow you to re-connect your P trap.
 
  #4  
Old 08-03-18, 03:26 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 38
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
PJmax,
if I cut it between the couplers, how do I attach a new one? Wouldnít there be part of the old trap on the inside of the couplers? (Have never worked with pvc). Also does that plug to the right tie into the pipe on the left from inside? So if I pour the solution of bleach down it it would go through on the left?
thanks for your help..
 
  #5  
Old 08-03-18, 03:36 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 70,072
Received 2,955 Votes on 2,666 Posts
I relabeled your original picture. I put a red line where you can cut and then just glue in a new coupler OR use a rubber coupler fitting like Dane mentioned.
 
  #6  
Old 08-03-18, 03:43 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 38
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ok... so Iíll cut it there, clean it out then reattach as stated. As maintenance, Iíll remove that plug on the right and install a 90 with a pipe pointing up with a cap and use it pour the bleach down it periodically. The labeling made it very clear. Thanks so much for the help!
 
  #7  
Old 08-03-18, 03:45 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 70,072
Received 2,955 Votes on 2,666 Posts
I've replaced the picture again. Sorry.

The PVC drain line is currently in the primary port. The other one is called the secondary or overflow port. That's the one where your short piece of PVC will go.
 
  #8  
Old 08-03-18, 03:53 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 38
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Sounds good.. gonna tackle this hopefully smooth project tomorrow. Thanks again!
 
  #9  
Old 08-03-18, 11:54 PM
Marq1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: USA MI
Posts: 9,483
Received 946 Votes on 859 Posts
If my system I'd space the plumbing away from the furnace and add a couple of unions.

Then the who thing could easily be taken apart and cleaned without having to cut anything in the future!
 
  #10  
Old 08-13-18, 07:22 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 38
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ok, so I cleaned out the P trap which was clogged. System running ok now. Next question... I like the ez trap since you're able to clean it with the access caps. Is it ok to install the ez trap right off the the outlet port at the top or do I need to install it where the original P trap is in the picture of my system. Not sure if I was to put it up top it would somehow not function properly.

Thanks,
RM
 
  #11  
Old 08-13-18, 11:12 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 70,072
Received 2,955 Votes on 2,666 Posts
You could do something like this.......
Name:  IMG_0894.jpg
Views: 567
Size:  42.6 KB
 
  #12  
Old 08-13-18, 02:55 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 38
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thatís what I was thinking. But if I did put it right off that primary drain, would it be ok there? Was thinking that with it up there, Iíd be able to use that horizontal cap to clean right into that port,etc.
 
  #13  
Old 08-13-18, 03:17 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 70,072
Received 2,955 Votes on 2,666 Posts
Yes.... you'd want the trap in the primary drain like I've shown it.
It wouldn't be effective in the secondary port.
 
  #14  
Old 08-13-18, 03:42 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 38
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I was thinking of putting it in the primary port at the top. Would it work ok there? If not, Iíll put it where the p trap is as suggested.
 
  #15  
Old 08-13-18, 04:03 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 70,072
Received 2,955 Votes on 2,666 Posts
Yes... you can install it high up by the primary drain outlet.
 
  #16  
Old 08-13-18, 05:57 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 38
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ok. Thanks for all your advice.. never to old learn something!!

thanks again!
RM
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: