Installing new mini split: tools and prep?

Old 09-18-18, 01:31 PM
T
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Installing new mini split: tools and prep?

I'm going to wake this thread back up vs starting a new one, and just add to the discussion. I find myself in a similar position to the OP. I have extensive diy experience (flipped 9 houses with 4 historical restorations in the mix), doing all the work myself. While not HVAC certified, I have course credit hours from HVAC classes I took when i was younger, I wouldn't likely try and repair my own HVAC, but a mini split install seems pretty straight forward to me, especially since most of them come pre-charged now with 410a, so charging is not an issue.

That said, have been researching mini's for some time now and got the requisite quote from a reputable local HVAC dealer for consideration and comparison.

I have a small ranch style house (just shy of 1200 sq ft) located in the Willamette Valley in Oregon. The house was built in 1941, but has been since insulated and new windows by another owner. They seemed to have done a decent job. In the Pacific NW, we don't have the humidity issues that of back east (I lived in the mid-Atlantic 25 years). I.e., it cools off at night. When it gets into the 90's during the summer (i currently only have a gas heater, no air conditioner), it typically gets into the low 60's or high 50's at night. I find the house gets up to 80 during the day with everything closed up, but i can bring that down to 70 opening it up at night, so the temp change is 10 degrees, which strikes me as pretty decent insulation? We don't get too cold during the winter, so I consider this an ideal location for a heat pump.
Given our comparatively short spells of hot weather, i am more inclined to look at the HSPF rating than the SEER rating.