Duct Booster Install on Relay

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-19-18, 10:24 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Duct Booster Install on Relay

I am trying to install a duct booster that will turn on when the AC blower turns on. I know I'll have to use a relay, but I'm not sure how to wire it to my control board. I've had a little bit of experience in electrical, I've installed new breakers in my home, outlets, lighting, ect. But nothing like this. The control board is a pcbfm131 rev d. Here is the wiring diagram that was in the unit. The duct booster is a Panasonic Whisperline FV-40NLF1, I believe the amp draw is 1.1. Any help would be greatly appreciated!
 
  #2  
Old 09-19-18, 11:54 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,725
Received 1,316 Votes on 1,216 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

I use a setup like in the picture. The RIB is a 24vac coil relay that is controlled from the furnace. Mounted to a standard 4" box you can use a power cord for 120vac in and put a receptacle in a 4" square plate right on the face of the box. Makes for a neat and safe job. This would be installed near the booster and the 24v wiring gets run to the furnace. If you decide to go this way I can give you further instruction in wiring.

Example of RIB relay

Name:  1900.jpg
Views: 378
Size:  39.7 KB
 
  #3  
Old 09-20-18, 07:35 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
That seems easy enough. I'll need to find that relay.
 
  #4  
Old 09-20-18, 12:48 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,725
Received 1,316 Votes on 1,216 Posts
I left you a link in my post. It's a Functional Devices RIB2401B.
 
  #5  
Old 09-20-18, 06:57 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yep, ordered it. Should be here sat. Now I'll just have to get it wired up correctly when it comes in. I'm super pumped lol.
 
  #6  
Old 09-21-18, 12:32 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,725
Received 1,316 Votes on 1,216 Posts
The wiring diagram.

Name:  RIB_X.jpg
Views: 446
Size:  46.2 KB
 
  #7  
Old 09-24-18, 05:07 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I'm pretty sure I hooked it up right, but to be sure, what wire goes to c, and what wire goes to g? As of now, it's not turning on. Right now I have the white and yellow wire to c, and the whatever blue to g.
 
  #8  
Old 09-24-18, 05:12 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,725
Received 1,316 Votes on 1,216 Posts
It's AC..... so there is no polarity. The red LED will come on when the relay sees 24vAC.
The G terminal only becomes live when the blower is running.

You can move the G wire to R as a test.
 
  #9  
Old 09-24-18, 05:16 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
So just plug the g wire to r and it should turn on?
 
  #10  
Old 09-24-18, 05:31 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,725
Received 1,316 Votes on 1,216 Posts
Yes..... since the R is always hot.
 
  #11  
Old 09-24-18, 06:35 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The light def comes on, but the booster does not. I double checked the wiring there and it all looks good. IllI check it out again tomorrow.
 
  #12  
Old 09-24-18, 06:41 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,725
Received 1,316 Votes on 1,216 Posts
You should be able to plug a light into your relay to check if it's switching correctly.
 
  #13  
Old 09-28-18, 12:27 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question, the Blu wire from the switch/ relay, you have an x on it, and the white/black.....that means they are not used?
 
  #14  
Old 09-28-18, 07:10 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,725
Received 1,316 Votes on 1,216 Posts
Yes.... that is correct. The white/black is for activating that relay with 120vAC and the blue wire is for normally closed switch operation. Neither you want.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: