Mobile Home hot/humid

Old 06-19-19, 09:03 AM
M
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Mobile Home hot/humid

Hi,
I'm somewhat new to mobile home living and i have a lot to learn but as of recently I've been having the worst problem well the heat and humidity my home. Yesterday I spent time crawling around under my home trying to see what could be the issue. I taped up 3 spots where the insulation was showing and felt the air ducts and they were light so I'm assuming they don't have water in them thankfully but there is condensation on the outside of the air duct. I'm not too sure of that poses that much of an issue or not. Even though I did some reading could somebody give me some advice and share some of their experiences with this issue? I appreciate it

Old 06-19-19, 11:15 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 835 Upvotes on 732 Posts
Welcome to the forums!

If you give us your approximate location so we can know what type of climate you have it would help.
Running your HVAC usually helps, if the humidity is extra bad you may need a dehumidifier.

Old 06-19-19, 12:04 PM
M
Thanks! I'm not sure how i forgot to mention it but I'm in central Florida

Old 06-19-19, 12:08 PM
M
I forgot to mention as well that we usually leave our air at 76 to help a little with humidity

Old 06-19-19, 12:20 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
I used to live in Bithlo [outside of Orlando] I don't miss the humidity!
I wouldn't think the fact that it's a trailer makes a big difference with the humidity although they typically don't have as much insulation and no attic to vent. Unless you have standing water I doubt there is a lot you can do outside to reduce the humidity.

Old 06-19-19, 12:27 PM
H
Received 296 Upvotes on 254 Posts
For real estate, the 3 most important things are, Location, Location, and Location.
For cooling, the 3 most important things are, Shade, Shade, and Shade.

Smart landscaping is more than a pretty yard—it’s a smart and efficient way to cool your home in summer.