Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Interior Improvement Center > Basements, Attics and Crawl Spaces
Reload this Page >

My first home reno job, watching a lot of youtube, but need some advice.

My first home reno job, watching a lot of youtube, but need some advice.

Old 11-17-18, 04:58 PM
M
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Red face My first home reno job, watching a lot of youtube, but need some advice.

This is my first big home reno job. I am redoing the basement. I am a software engineer with two left thumbs, but am enjoying my foray into home improvements. The house was built in 1948, as a result the basement is poured concrete with a deliberate gentle slope to the drain. The previous owners had put down linoleum and blocked up the drain, something I discovered was a bad idea when a water pipe connecting to the water heater blew and flooded the basement. Fortunately, my daughter discovered the mess before it got too deep. I have since cut a hole in the linoleum and exposed the drain.

I have just finished installing dricore 2*2 tiles. I have covered the entire floor after a few poor starts, and got it as level as I can. I have then added underlayment as a padding plus additional water / cold insulation. That was easy, you can cut it with big scissors. I am having a challenging time getting Swiftlock laminate boards down, the first row is easy, but the next requires some yoga to get them to connect when two edges have to fit together. Should I be doing the short edge first, or the long edge? I can find different youtube videos recommending one or the other, but it seems like I will break the edge if I force it.