Corrosion protection needed?

Old 09-30-16, 12:08 PM
I
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 44 Votes on 42 Posts
Corrosion protection needed?

I have a 3 zone + DHW hydronic system with a Munchkin high-efficiency boiler, installed roughly 2006. The heat zones are copper piped with slant fin baseboards. I don't have much info on the system from the previous owner, but the stickers indicate it was installed by a reputable local contractor.

I recently did a small amount of work on the system and had to drain out some water. When doing so I used some of those cryotek test strips and found about 30% glycol (which is appropriate for my climate) and no indication of any corrosion protection (which I assume is a pH measurement).

Is this something to be concerned with? I'm fairly new to hydronic systems and don't have much experience with maintenance and modification.

Old 09-30-16, 03:07 PM
G
Received 13 Votes on 13 Posts
Anti-corrosion additives are seldom recommended for hydronic systems - an effective air removal device or system is normally all that is necessary.

I wonder about the glycol. Is this system unattended for stretches during freezing weather? Glycol is messy and can seep out of tiny leaks that plain water wouldn't, and glycol, which is toxic, can present disposal issues. Personally, I would prefer to avoid using hydronic heat in situations where freeze protection is required.

Old 09-30-16, 04:12 PM
I
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 44 Votes on 42 Posts
I did just replace the automatic air purger, so I should be good there.

The previous owners wintered in Florida, so they probably did leave the system off at least for some portion of the winter. That would explain the glycol charge.

I don't turn the system off, and also have an automatic standby generator, so the chances of freezing are slim. If I ever have cause to drain the system I would be hesitant to recharge it with glycol for the reasons you mentioned.