Boiler: DHW not staying warm.

Old 03-15-17, 08:00 AM
E
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Boiler: DHW not staying warm.

Hi guys, before you tell me to read other posts, I tried to look at most with similar issues but couldn't find anything that has worked. - so here it goes-

I have been seeing a little water on my basement floor now and again and it was kind of near a crack so I figured maybe it was just ground water coming back up ( I bought the house about 3 months ago so I am still learning a few details) and I finally figured out the pressure relief on the boiler was dumping water. I looked and thought maybe it had some junk stuck in the gasket so I flushed it a bit into a bucket and then it made it worse so I hit the shutoff on the boiler (you know that red plated switch that says shutoff on it, I can't remember if the boiler was running at the time I flipped the switch). It stopped and I fired it back up, no issues and it started leaking again and then I realized the valve was set to relieve pressure >30psi and the gauge was at about 31-32psi. So then I looked to my PRV and toned it down until I was at about 20PSI, supposed recommended pressure.( the MAWP on the boiler says 50psi). The leaking stopped, so then later that evening i noticed my hot water was not as hot anymore, which shouldn't be affected since the PRV doesn't effect that, they aren't connected(besides upstream on the feed). The coil is relatively new ~1 year, so I figure it's not clogged, but the question is now, what happened? The only thing I can think of is when I killed the power, something changed the settings? The aqua stat uses knobs, not a digital setting. I am at a loss. Any help would be appreciated.

The boiler is an ultimate PFO-5T, and is about 11 years old.