Boiler vent damper not closing

Old 03-23-17, 05:58 PM
K
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Boiler vent damper not closing

Hi, i have a vent damper that is stuck in the open position occasionally and causing the boiler to fail to start. Even though it is in manual override the boiler gives me the same error code as if it were trying to close the damper. I've read that it is possible to jump this vent damper so that it stays in the open position. I'm a novice so where do i get a jumper cable for this??? Can i buy it at HD?Or is there any other way to bypass this vent damper?? Vent damper model GVD-7.

Thanks for your help.

Old 03-24-17, 06:36 AM
B
Received 314 Upvotes on 277 Posts
Intermittent problems are difficult and usually solved by elimination. The following is a method to eliminate a possible source.
By placing the manual override switch in the open position, your closed damper should open automatically (mechanically operated by a spring). The damper should operate a position switch when fully open. The position switch action signals the furnace control to continue the start up sequence. Therefore there are operations after the damper is open that need to be satisfied before the furnace will start. I will assume these other operations are operating properly.
The vent damper can be checked by observing an indicator (pointer or some other mark on the vent damper shaft) on the drive shaft of the vent damper external to the vent pipe. If the pointer or mark is aligned with the center line of the vent pipe, its orientation is correct but may not be operating the position switch. Try manually rotating the shaft in the direction of damper open to see if the furnace will start. If it does, this indicates the shaft has too much friction and needs lubrication. If it doesn’t the position switch could be bad or there is some other operation at fault. Hope this helps.

Old 03-24-17, 08:31 AM
D
Received 105 Upvotes on 99 Posts