Wireless thermostats in place of wired


  #1  
Old 10-14-17, 07:50 PM
I
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Wireless thermostats in place of wired

Hi all,

I believe I've worked out the answer to my question (and I hate to beat a dead horse on this topic), but I'd like confirmation (or correction) from those of you more knowledgeable so that I don't inadvertently blow something up.

Here's what I'm planning: Zoning a single zone hydronic baseboard oil fired system into 3 separate zones. I'm planning on using a Honeywell HZ322 panel, wireless adapter THM4000R1000, and 3 TH6320R1004 wireless thermostats in place of the current single Honeywell RTH221B1000 thermostat. I'll be adding 3 Taco Z075C2-1 zone valves to use with the current Taco 007-F4 circulator.

Based on the documentation provided with the panel, tstats, & valves, the wiringseems straightforward; my question is about wiring it to the existing boiler controls. (Pics of the current setup are at the end of the post).

The plan is simply to replace the current tstat connection (wired to the R & W terminals in the CA-295) with a connection from zone valve end switches. Per the zone panel wiring schematic, "Wire the end switch from each valve in parallel to the R and W or T and T at the aquastat or boiler." I believe I just need to wire up a separate 24VAC transformer to power the panel & valves.

Am I on the right track? Thanks in advance!


Here's the current setup:
https://photos.app.goo.gl/F0mUGqQU4g85JXdH3

COMPONENTS
Arcoleader A1 4P boiler
https://photos.app.goo.gl/BCUVltZE27RgnOng2

Tstat to Detroit CA-295 switching relay
Schematic: https://photos.app.goo.gl/rmmjZFU6KDLihzWG3
Current wiring: https://photos.app.goo.gl/f33Un88DAqqYi7Mv2

Carlin 100CRD
https://photos.app.goo.gl/XncqDaRZOXu4lDrN2

Detroit CA-655 high limit control
https://photos.app.goo.gl/18TTbmY7w7iUVdVE2

Honeywell aquastat (low limit control?)
https://photos.app.goo.gl/aQGHHRkiYidNDVj73
 
  #2  
Old 10-15-17, 10:41 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 71,051
Received 3,192 Likes on 2,867 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

I'd guess you could use the Honeywell HZ322 for hydronic switching. I've never seen it used that way as it's designed to zone ductwork dampers. One thing that would need to be confirmed is that the output of the TruZone has enough capacity to operate zone vales.
 
  #3  
Old 10-15-17, 11:20 AM
I
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Hi Pete,

Thanks for the reply. It does look like the HZ322 can be used in hydronic systems with zone valves. Bottom of page 6 is the schematic I was working from:

https://s3.amazonaws.com/s3.supplyho...322-Wiring.pdf
 
  #4  
Old 10-23-17, 08:14 PM
I
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Hey guys, just wanted to give a follow up. Everything went as planned and all seems to be working well.
 
  #5  
Old 10-23-17, 09:04 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 71,051
Received 3,192 Likes on 2,867 Posts
Awesome news. Good job. Thanks for stopping back and letting us know.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: