Central Heating with Solar water heating (Primary) and LPG Gas Boiler combined

Old 05-01-18, 04:27 AM
D
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Central Heating with Solar water heating (Primary) and LPG Gas Boiler combined

Help Needed to Combine Solar water heating system (as primary source) and LPG Gas Boiler (as a secondary source) for Central Heating. I have no experience on Central Heating before. But I am a serious DIYer.
Hello,
I am from Kathmandu, Nepal, and presently trying to install a central heating system in my house using Solar Water Heater.
Background: Winter days in Kathmandu lasts about 130 days a year. Minimum temperature during the night is Zero degrees Celcius and During the Day time is 18 degrees (C). Out of 130 winter days, 120 days are sunny days (6 to 7 hours every day). Solar hot water heating systems for Domestic Hot water are very popular and have been in use already more than 2 decades successfully. I am going to use the similar system to heat the water and store in a storage tank and circulate it through radiators through out the winter. This new system will be used solely for heating purpose and NOT for Domestic Hot Water.
After careful calculation of Heat requirements and Radiator planning for every room, I have decided to have a 1000 liter hot water storage tank and 5 solar panels to heat the water on my roof top (have ample of space on my roof for this). Water temperature is easily heated to 70-80 degrees (C) solely by solar panels. This water will circulate in the radiators and back to storage tank. In my approximate calculation the 1000 liter tank will keep my house warm till 3 am in the morning, and then the water temperature will go down, as there is no sun during the night and also during cloudy days. From that point, I wanted to install a LPG Gas Boiler to heat the water.
I got into few confusion on where to install the Boiler: