Slantfin Pressure question

Old 10-26-18, 11:45 AM
K
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Slantfin Pressure question

My brother and I replaced a reducing T in the return manifold due to corrosion and leak. I bled the system and standalone pressure gauge read 18.5 psi & boiler gauge 22 psi.
Im new at this so I’m learning as I go. This morning with a cold boiler the pressure was 6psi and my expansion tank is new and adjusted to 15 psi. Previously with cold boiler it was 15 psi.
This morning I bled the system again. I adjusted pressure to 16 psi cold on my standalone pressure gauge, after warmed up 20 psi standalone pressure gauge and boiler gauge 25psi.
I started with 1-1/2 gallons of antifreeze for bleeding and when I finished I had 1-1/2 gallons.
Is the volume of the system that sensitive that a couple ounces will affect cold pressure?
Should I have just added antifreeze on the cold boiler to attain 15 psi on standalone pressure gauge?

Old 10-26-18, 01:29 PM
G
Received 28 Upvotes on 27 Posts
You need to determine which gauge is correct - maybe neither is? With 5 psi difference, you are flying blind.

Old 10-26-18, 03:33 PM
K
I added the 2nd gauge because many claim the combo gauge are incorrect.
But you didn’t answer my basic question. What should the lowest pressure be?
Shouldn't it be the expansion tank pressure?
regards

Old 10-26-18, 04:42 PM
G
What should the lowest pressure be?
Shouldn't it be the expansion tank pressure?
When you say the "lowest," are you talking about the lower of the two gauges? But, to answer your question, the pressure of the air side of the expansion tank should, under most circumstances, be equal to the water side. One or both of your gauges is wrong, and you need to determine that.

Why are you using antifreeze?

Old 10-26-18, 05:22 PM
K
Im at a loss. Before repair cold pressure equaled expansion tank pressure of 15 psi. Now it’s low cold, but normal hot. If I add more water it will raise hot pressure.