Bell and Gossette Circulator

Old 03-15-19, 08:38 AM
V
Received 3 Upvotes on 3 Posts
Bell and Gossette Circulator

Hello,

Newbie here. My hydronic heating is very old . It has 2 zones with 2 circulators.
One of the calculators, B and G, is wired directly to the electric panel by passing aquastat.
my question is how does it get call for heat?
Is it connected directly to the thermostat? I only see one wire coming out of it going to the electric panel.

Old 03-15-19, 10:58 AM
Z
Received 124 Upvotes on 115 Posts
I’m not one of the experts here but that seems like a really strange setup. If your circulator is directly connected to a breaker panel then the circulator would be running 100% of the time.

There must be relays somewhere that the thermostat for that zone connects to, to get the burner to come on when the thermostat wants heat. In other words, the circulator runs all the time and when the thermostat for that zone wants heat, it only needs to get the burner to run to heat the water so hot water is circulated through the zone. I think that works but it's a strange setup.

(1) Are you 100% positive you are tracing the right wires?

(2) What model Aquastat do you have?

(3) Are there any other control boxes around besides the Aquastat, and if so what are the model numbers?

I’m sure that the experts will be along.

Old 03-15-19, 11:33 AM
V
Circulator does not run all time. I checked it runs on and off.
I can see only one wire coming out of it going to breaker panel.
Aqua stat is old one honeywell L4018b1013, which is also acting up, like does not shut off the burner on high limit.
right now high is 150 but it goes to 180 plus.it doesn't have differential knob.
there is junction box, where power is coming in and then its going to aquastat, burner and the other circulator.

Old 03-15-19, 11:39 AM
Group Moderator
Received 3,951 Upvotes on 3,544 Posts