Brick basement floor


  #1  
Old 08-09-16, 08:25 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 11
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Brick basement floor

Would like to get some opinions on what to do about the floor in the back room of my basement. House was built in 1940. 90% of the basement is concrete floor, but the back room that is pictured has some sloppy bricks as the floor. The floor seems to always be damp, but there is a sump pump back there

Is it as simple as pulling the bricks, laying down stone and a vapor barrier, and then concreting it?

Name:  brick.jpg
Views: 3700
Size:  32.3 KB
 

Last edited by PJmax; 08-09-16 at 08:29 PM. Reason: reoriented picture
  #2  
Old 08-09-16, 10:08 PM
H
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 2,412
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Is it as simple as pulling the bricks, laying down stone and a vapor barrier, and then concreting it?
Yes I believe so however you will need to remove everything from the room including the furnace I see there so if you have gas going to the furnace be sure to call a plumber and have that person temporarily cap it off. The rest you may be able to do yourself depending on the age of the furnace. Some old furnaces and boilers were lined with asbestos and should be replaced. Also a good idea to buy a radon test kit and test for radon per the instructions on the kit. If you have high readings then it needs to be re-mediated by a professional.

If you still have dampness in your basement too then I would call in a waterproofing specialist and have them add in another sump pump if necessary. Since your area is small this will be a job for a wheel barrel and not a cement truck. Even though the job is small you should get some help as the wheel barrel will be heavy and you will need someone to mix the cement for you. As to the proper ratio of water to cement that should be on the bag. You don't want too much water and you don't want it too dry either. You will need rebar too and metal mesh.

You will also need a cement float and a trowel to go over the surface. I suggest you go to quickrete's website and see if they have any videos on how to lay down your floor and also look on you tube to see more videos before starting.
 
  #3  
Old 08-10-16, 08:27 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 11
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I shouldn't have to move the furnace. It is sitting on a concrete slab that goes into the floor about 6 inches and sits above the bricks another 6 inches.

I think the moisture just comes with the bricks somehow since the sump pump is dry 100% of the time. I'm not even sure why it's there haha.

I will do some more research and get a plan together. Thanks for your response hedgeclippers!
 
  #4  
Old 08-10-16, 09:42 PM
H
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 2,412
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Great I am glad you will not have to move the furnace. It was kind of hard to see in your picture. I haven't done as big a job as you want to do just small things but I ask a good deal of questions and try not to miss the home improvement shows. Good luck with your project!
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: