Retaining wall Pushing Out. How to Reinforce/Fix?

Old 04-16-17, 06:19 PM
B
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Retaining wall Pushing Out. How to Reinforce/Fix?

I have a retaining wall that has been slowly pushing out. I don't necessarily have to have it perfect, but I want to reinforce/fix it to prevent it from getting worse. Any ideas on what to do? Please see attached picture.

Name:  Resized_20170311_150224.jpg
Views: 3304
Size:  84.9 KB

Sponsored Links
Old 04-16-17, 07:04 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Received 6 Votes on 6 Posts
Welcome to the forums! How was this wall built? Does the CMU go all the way up to the top of the first section? What is that stuff between the two sections? Is there any drainage to take away the hydraulic pressure from behind once water gets in there? With the locking stone, I guess there are no deadmen installed, right?

Old 04-16-17, 08:22 PM
B
This is my first time dealing with a retaining wall so unfortunately, I don't know the answers to those questions.

I do know that there are a few cinderblocks with concrete and rebar under the locking bricks.

Pretty sure there is no drainage at the top to divert water. How should that be done?

Old 04-17-17, 08:30 AM
P
Group Moderator
Received 684 Votes on 631 Posts
That is very unusual construction. Do you see any drain pipes exposed at the ends of the wall? It appears you have mortared CMU blocks with dry stacked retaining wall blocks on top. All engineered retaining wall blocks I've ever seen specifically do NOT get placed on a hard footing like concrete or a CMU block wall so that might be a problem you can't overcome.

Unfortunately there are rarely(never) quick easy fixes with retaining walls. You are dealing with tons and tons of material that can exert tons of side force on the wall. Without knowing how it's constructed it's hard/impossible to know exactly what to do.