Need help with making keyboard stand

Old 12-17-16, 09:31 PM
E
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Need help with making keyboard stand

Hello, I am new to carpentry and would appreciate if someone could guide me through the steps of making this keyboard and mouse stand that i need for my stand-up desk. I have found some pictures online and have included here for your reference. I figured this should be an easy project to get my feet wet.

Approximate dimension will be 30"W x 12"H x 13"D.

I am not sure what wood to use and where to get it. Does home depot carry the wood I need? Its for my office use so appearance is important.

I have the basic homeowner tools like circular saw, dremel rotary, etc.

Attached Images   
Old 12-18-16, 04:51 AM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Received 6 Votes on 6 Posts
From the pictures it appears to be common 3/4" cabinet grade (7 ply) plywood with edging. The cuts are straight forward 45 degree cuts to eliminate the edge from showing. We can't see it from here, but it will need a backing to keep it stable. Use another piece of plywood between the legs extending from the top down. The legs appear to be furniture coasters. I would make sure they have a rubber backing to keep them from slipping all over the countertop.

Old 12-18-16, 04:55 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 383 Votes on 339 Posts
Since you are new to carpentry you might consider forgoing the 45 cuts and just laying the top over the end pieces. You could dress it up with molding.

Old 12-18-16, 05:37 AM
Here's a board you can use:

Edge-Glued Panel (Common: 21/32 in. x 18 in. x 4 ft.; Actual: 0.656 in. x 17.25 in. x 48 in.)-493554 - The Home Depot

You would need to rip the width down to 13", which home stores don't normally do.
A lumber store usually provides milling at a cost, they have table saws and everything.
The advantage of edge-glued panels is they are less prone to cupping than a wide board, and you have solid wood to work with.

Old 12-18-16, 05:59 PM
E