Hanging upper cabinets on a very bulging wall

Old 09-12-17, 04:15 PM
M
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Unhappy Hanging upper cabinets on a very bulging wall

So I'm pretty deep into a kitchen remodel. I've got my base cabinets set. I think it's suggested that you should set uppers first but I'm new at this and I need to get my granite fabricator out to measure so fabrication can start. My plan was to work on uppers while that happens.

One of my walls, however, has a huge bulge in it. If I were to screw all my uppers together and put them up as a single unit, the deflection would be at least an inch if I were to push into the corner, and probably 2-1/2 to 3" if I went the other way (adjusted my corner cabinet out and had the outage in the corner. This would, in turn, push out the other cabinets so far out my fridge wouldn't fit at the end.

The bulge is about 24" from one side to the other horizontally. Starts at about the level of the base of the uppers. And ends before the tops of the uppers. The uppers are 42" tall.

My thought was to cut a square of drywall out in the spot that the bulge happens. My hope is that it would allow 1/2" of the "slop" to be bridged by the cabinets and decrease the bulge. This is my first kitchen cabinet install and up to now I think it looks excellent. All my bases are level front-to-back, side-to-side and the faces are also flat all the way across. Lots of that credit goes to my tile guy making the floor very level before even getting started.