handheld microphone connection

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-04-17, 06:07 PM
H
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: united states
Posts: 207
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
handheld microphone connection

Installed a PA system at our business and it came with a basic XLR microphone but what we would like to use is a handheld push to talk microphone instead of sliding the on/off switch on the basic one. Like what you would get to connect to your walkie talkie, It obviously doesnt need the speaker in it but just the push button microphone is what we want. Now on to what im asking... the only push button microphones I could find with XLR were $100s and we dont want to spend that. so we bought a basic walkie talkie push button speaker thing with the coiled cord and spliced it to solder onto an XLR connector and its not working out so well. the one we bought has 3 rings but 4 wires. red/green/black/white we used white and black for the microphone and when it didnt work we tried the others. it finally did work with green and black but it was using the speaker as a microphone lol thus the push button useless. so any idea as to why we couldnt get it to work or does anyone know of another cheap option where when we buy it it comes ready? looking for $20 or less. I know cheap but money doesnt grow on trees. thanks
 
  #2  
Old 05-04-17, 06:12 PM
XSleeper's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 26,838
Received 855 Votes on 783 Posts
Why don't you get a CB microphone?
 
  #3  
Old 05-04-17, 06:31 PM
H
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: united states
Posts: 207
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
just looked and most say 3 or 4 pin powered microphone, something tells me that wont work because I think my PA amp just receives the signal and doesnt power the mic.
 
  #4  
Old 05-04-17, 06:39 PM
XSleeper's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 26,838
Received 855 Votes on 783 Posts
  #5  
Old 05-04-17, 07:09 PM
H
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: united states
Posts: 207
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
AHH i thought by powered it meant by the CB not a battery, any idea which of those 4 wires I would need for an XLR connection?
 
  #6  
Old 05-05-17, 12:28 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 61,482
Received 1,421 Votes on 1,314 Posts
You want a stock CB mic.... not a powered one. They're widely available.
If you tell me which one you get I'll tell you how to wire it.

Most CB mics would connect......
White to XLR pin 2.
Shield to pin pin 1 with jumper to pin 3.
 
  #7  
Old 05-05-17, 02:00 PM
H
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: united states
Posts: 207
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
so the powered one cant or shouldnt be used? lol
 
  #8  
Old 05-05-17, 02:10 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 61,482
Received 1,421 Votes on 1,314 Posts
It could be used but may be too loud and may crackle when the button is pressed.
 
  #9  
Old 05-05-17, 02:26 PM
H
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: united states
Posts: 207
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
well this is the one I got
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

I went off what the other guy said to get the powered one. It was also a good price and seemed pretty solid. If there is a crackle I guess ill have to chalk up the loss. thanks

do you think it will work without the battery?
 
  #10  
Old 05-05-17, 03:06 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 61,482
Received 1,421 Votes on 1,314 Posts
No... it needs a 9v battery to produce audio.

Those Cobra mics use different mic cords. The audio line may not be white.
The wire that the shield is wrapped around is the audio line.

The wire that was on pin 1 on the four pin plug would have been the shield.
The wire that was on pin 2 on the four pin plug is the audio.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: