Build CD/DVD Duplicator help

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-20-16, 06:40 PM
O
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Sydney Oz
Posts: 18
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question Build CD/DVD Duplicator help

Hi,

I have a case with 6 slots for CD drives and I want to make a duplicator.

I burn from Nero images not from a previous CD or DVD and I have a hard drive for this. I also have 6 CD burners.

From my mobo I have primary and slave and secondary and slave so I guess I will need a controller card to give me the extra connections.

So far am I right?

Any help please?

Thanks

oz
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-20-16, 07:07 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,965
Received 6 Votes on 6 Posts
I am, by far, not an expert, but the duplicator we use at church runs all 6 units at once, not sequentially. Would it be possible to use tandem ribbons to daisy chain the units rather than run them separately?
 
  #3  
Old 08-21-16, 01:07 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,659
Received 1,168 Votes on 1,083 Posts
I'm not an expert either..... but this is my thought.

You can link them together with a custom ribbon cable but each drive would have to be given an address. The six burners need to be controlled independently.

You'd need something like this from Acard.....
ACARD-ARS-5110P-Duplicator-Controller-Lightscribe
 
  #4  
Old 08-21-16, 02:23 AM
H
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 2,446
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I am not an expert on making a DVD/CD duplicator either although I have built two of my own desktops. I think Larry(Chandler) and PJmax both are setting you in the right direction. I am just wondering if what PJmax is showing you will have some kind of USB connection going out of the back of the case. If it does and I assume it will have that then connections between the duplicator and your computer should be a breeze.

Actually I answered my own question just now by going to Newegg's website where these are a bit cheaper than at Amazon.com. These work as stand alone units with these cards and can make unlimited copies although I assume you could possibly connect this to a computer. This same company has two different models that I could see and one is their premium model and the other is not. Quite honestly though I see no difference between the two except a higher price here is a link to their compare page Computer Parts, PC Components, Laptop Computers, LED LCD TV, Digital Cameras and more - Newegg.com

I found the manual by going to ACARD's website and it looks like it will be easy to install the drives. You can also install an HDD too optionally if you so desire one in your case. It really depends on how you want to use the duplicator. While I didn't completely go through the manual It looks like a USB option is there so I think you can also connect this to a computer however I am not sure. Here is a link to the manual http://dl.acard.com/manual/english/5...)_(Rev1.3).pdf .

Other information such as warranty for instance is available on Newegg's website which can be found by going to the product you want and then clicking on warranty information. Then look for Support website click on it and from there look for Duplicate Controller and then the model number and you can then find out more information.
 
  #5  
Old 08-21-16, 03:55 AM
O
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Sydney Oz
Posts: 18
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Many thanks guys, you have been very gracious with your help.

I will look into the links as soon as i get time and with your advice I'm sure will get something happening.

All the best..

oz
 
  #6  
Old 08-23-16, 04:10 PM
WRDIY's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 678
Received 4 Votes on 3 Posts
If you have Primary & Slave and Secondary & Slave, most likely your are on IDE. If that is the case, I agree with PJMax recommendation (on the controller) since you will experience I/O contention in your current setup.

In the 90's Sony burners are bundle with a burning software with Prassi Engine. This engine can do simultaneous burn. Unfortunately, this engine is no longer maintained and therefore, it does not support today's drives. You may want to look into PowerISO for simultaneous burn of multiple drives. I have tested many multi-burner software and this seems to meet my needs. I am not sure why I also wrote test notes for myself on gBurner. You might want to look into it as well.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: