Using multiple USB hubs


  #1  
Old 07-27-17, 06:54 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 3
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Using multiple USB hubs

Hi I am in the process of expanding my studio and want to make sure that it won’t cause any computer problems or electrical hazards. Could you please help?

I already have two 14 port USB hubs and now I want to add one more USB hubs so that I can use more ports for midi controllers and webcams. I am wondering if there would be any issue to use 3 USB hubs simultaneously. My mac has 4 USB slots, so i could have all three plugged into the mac at once, but want to make sure that i don’t make any harmful mistake and that theres no risk of damaging the computer, devices, usb hubs, or causing any electrical/fire hazards by using 3 hubs at one time.

This is the USB Hub that I use for all the hubs: https://www.amazon.com/Anker-14-Por....s=anker+hub+13

I have an iMac (Retina 5K, 27-inch, Late 2015) with the latest OS.

So is this a bad idea for any reason? Or is it safe to use all three?


Thanks, Dan
 
  #2  
Old 07-27-17, 07:05 AM
S
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 700
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
That question arose about 20 years ago on the Personal Computer Show heard Wednesdays at 9PM Eastern Time on WBAI FM or wbai.org The question was how many USB devices can I connect to one machine. The answer was 127.
That might have been for Windows. My guess would be that Macs could handle the same.
 
  #3  
Old 07-27-17, 07:17 AM
Norm201's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 10,957
Received 725 Upvotes on 641 Posts
Only way to find out is try it. You won't do any harm by trying. A lot depends on your RAM and CPU. If it can handle it then fine if not then you'll know. My old computer could not handle no more than six USB data drive at once. My new computer can handle about twice that much including being on line.
 
  #4  
Old 07-27-17, 07:46 AM
S
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 700
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Besides the CPU & RAM, the USB controllers have something to do with it. I don't know how to view them in Mac.
 
  #5  
Old 07-28-17, 09:48 AM
Z
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,099
Received 422 Upvotes on 375 Posts
You shouldn't have a problem adding another hub. With USB you can run into power issues since each port only provides a certain amount of power to the devices. You're using a powered hub, so that eliminates/reduces that possibility.

Regardless, you won't hurt anything. USB controllers are designed to shut down in certain circumstances to protect themselves.
 
  #6  
Old 07-28-17, 05:50 PM
Norm201's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 10,957
Received 725 Upvotes on 641 Posts
Regardless, you won't hurt anything. USB controllers are designed to shut down in certain circumstances to protect themselves.
Correct you are. Apparently that was the problem with my old computer, even though they were powered separately.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: