Ethernet Cables


  #1  
Old 10-17-17, 08:58 AM
Handyone's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: U.S.
Posts: 5,449
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Ethernet Cables

They say there are no dumb questions, so here goes

My son wants 2 Ethernet cables in his room. Is there a way to run several devices off of one cable?
The router has one more port available, but I'm trying to avoid running new cable if it can be done.
 
  #2  
Old 10-17-17, 09:21 AM
D
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 516
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
The only alternative is an Amped 2400. For lack of better terminology, it's a reverse wireless router. It grabs the wireless signal from your main router & converts it into 5 wired ports. If you buy one of them (under $100), disable DHCP on it & use DHCP from the main router.


Edit: A basic Ethernet switch should work too. Sorry about that.
 

Last edited by Donato_; 10-17-17 at 09:50 AM.
  #3  
Old 10-17-17, 11:22 AM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 9,029
Received 76 Likes on 69 Posts
Here is a page of ports, This is best Buy but most electronic store will have them,
https://www.bestbuy.com/site/network...d=abcat0503012
 
  #4  
Old 10-17-17, 12:24 PM
F
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,495
Received 37 Likes on 29 Posts
IF your son is running 10/100 Ethernet then only two of the four cable pairs are being used. He could "break out" the two pair to an additional plug (at the router) and jack in his room for only a couple of dollars for the hardware. Otherwise a "switch" as pugsl linked to is the best answer. Having the switch at the router and an additional switch in his room may somewhat slow down data transfer rate.

I personally would not advise wireless, just because I prefer wires.
 
  #5  
Old 10-17-17, 01:27 PM
P
Member
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Cleveland, OH USA
Posts: 623
Likes: 0
Received 14 Likes on 13 Posts
The Ethernet switch is the way to go. Hoping you have good quality cable coming into the room and a decent gigabit router and there won't be any problem adding as many devices as you want to that cable.

- Peter
 
  #6  
Old 10-17-17, 03:29 PM
Handyone's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: U.S.
Posts: 5,449
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
This sounds like good news. The router is an ASUS Gigabit.
The cable printing says (among other things) enhanced CAT5, 24AWG-4PR-ETL. I didn't realize there are more wires than needed in the cable.

So I think I will go with the switch? I wouldn't want to add/split jacks myself unless there are "easy" jacks.
 
  #7  
Old 10-17-17, 04:15 PM
Bob14525's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,744
Received 51 Likes on 44 Posts
If there is an Ethernet cable already going to your son's room and you want to connect more than one device, an Ethernet switch is the way to go (as pjaffe mentioned). Five port switches are pretty inexpensive. I picked up a 5-port Gigabit switch on sale for under $10. Plug the Ethernet cable in your son's room into one of the 5 ports (doesn't matter which one). You now have 4 more ports available to use as needed.
 
  #8  
Old 10-17-17, 06:54 PM
F
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,495
Received 37 Likes on 29 Posts
If you are running gigabit speeds then you cannot "break out" the cable to serve two devices. Gigabit uses all four pairs.

Switch is definitely the way to go.
 
  #9  
Old 10-17-17, 07:21 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 15,030
Received 629 Likes on 538 Posts
I agree, just add a switch in his room.
 
  #10  
Old 10-18-17, 04:49 PM
Handyone's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: U.S.
Posts: 5,449
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Thanks guys, you all kept me out of a crawlspace...
 
  #11  
Old 10-18-17, 06:10 PM
H
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 2,462
Received 260 Likes on 222 Posts
You might look into a powerline adapter and switch.
The combination lets you run ethernet data through your existing house electric wiring to any plug,
then split it to supply several ethernet devices.
 
  #12  
Old 10-19-17, 06:19 AM
Bob14525's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,744
Received 51 Likes on 44 Posts
Originally Posted by Hal_S View Post
You might look into a powerline adapter and switch.
The combination lets you run ethernet data through your existing house electric wiring to any plug,
then split it to supply several ethernet devices.
I've used a powerline Ethernet adapter at a couple of client's homes. They work well, but only if the two outlets (source & destination) are on the same circuit. Most homes have 240V power coming into them. Standard 120VAC comes from taking one of the 240V wires and ground. Typically, homes are wired such that approximately half the wiring (lights & outlets) are connected to one side of the 240V, while the rest of the wiring is connected to the other 240V lead. If both powerline adapters are on the same 240V line, they work quite well. However, if you have one adapter on one line, and the other adapter on the other line, they don't work well (either won't work at all or will be very slow). So, you have a 50/50 chance that a powerline adapter will work.
 
  #13  
Old 10-19-17, 07:03 AM
H
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 2,462
Received 260 Likes on 222 Posts
Or, you go downstairs with a flashlight and a screwdriver, turn off the main breaker, open the panel, and swap either of the 2 powerline breakers with a neighbor.

Agreed, you get excellent results if they're on the same circuit,
good results if they're on the same 240v leg,
but not-so good if they're on opposite legs.
 
  #14  
Old 10-19-17, 07:20 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,575
Likes: 0
Received 15 Likes on 13 Posts
Been using $10 or less (+free shipping) used Ethernet switches from Ebay for many years and have seen no problems. I remember reading years ago they might not be best choice for online gaming but have no experience with that.

Full disclosure: First switch lasted 10 years now on my second switch that's more than five years old and going strong.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: