Home Network Device Connection Locations?

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-28-18, 05:15 AM
P
Group Moderator
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 23,742
Received 629 Votes on 581 Posts
Home Network Device Connection Locations?

Does it matter where devices are physically plugged into a network?

I have just upgraded the hardware for my home network. Currently my NAS (server) is plugged into a port of the wireless router. To improve the performance of the wireless router I want to move it to a new location where it is not very accessible so I only want to run one ethernet cable to it. Will it hurt performance if I plug my NAS cable into a spare ethernet port on my modem? Is it best if the NAS is plugged directly into my wireless router?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-28-18, 05:57 AM
M
Member
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Itís tough to give a difinitive answer without knowing the entire setup.

What model of router and modem do you have? Are you looking to move the router only to gain a stronger wireless signal?

Depending on the equipment and your requirements here is what I would do:

Configure your modem to handle all routing/dhcp requests. (This is typically how they are provided from the ISP). Plug the NAS in at this location.

Run a single line of cat6 to the new router location

Configure the new router as a wireless access point.

There are many ways to do what you you are looking to achieve. If this doesnít work, let us know!
 
  #3  
Old 09-28-18, 08:09 AM
P
Group Moderator
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 23,742
Received 629 Votes on 581 Posts
I have a spool of cat 5e cable. Is it worth buying a spool of cat 6 over the 5e that I already have?
 
  #4  
Old 09-28-18, 10:30 AM
Bob14525's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,590
Received 26 Votes on 21 Posts
Usually modems only have 1 output port. Are you referring to a separate modem and router, or do you mean a "gateway" which is a modem & router in one box?

As for your question regarding Cat5E vs Cat6. While Cat6 is better, since you already have a spool of 5E, I would go ahead and use it. You should get full gigabit ethernet speed over either.
 
  #5  
Old 10-01-18, 06:56 AM
A
Member
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 506
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
If you connect your NAS to your modem it may not be on the same network (IP address range) as your other devices that connect to your router.

It all depends upon how your network is configured.

Usually the router provides the IP address not the modem.
 
  #6  
Old 10-02-18, 10:26 AM
Z
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 5,336
Received 115 Votes on 106 Posts
Assuming you have a reasonable network setup, it really doesn't matter where on your network you plug a device.

Wireless will typically be slower than hard-wired. But whether it's plugged in here or there or in this room or that room, you're talking microseconds or maybe millisecond access differences... nothing you'd ever notice.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: