Porch roof build

Old 01-26-16, 01:20 PM
T
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Porch roof build

Hey everyone! First off, I searched for these details for a bit (not extensively), so I apologize if there is an existing thread that covers my questions. That said, I'm new here, although I have tapped into the collective wisdom on these DIY forums before. Thanks for that!
Moving on... I am building a porch roof for my mom. I have some framing experience, but not a lot. I have done roofing and concrete before, but certainly am no pro regarding either. I have been pouring over codes and span tables and all of that stuff. Where I am, inspection isn't relevant. I am struggling a bit with definitive answers for my building plans. Snow load isn't much here (don't know exactly, but will confirm that), but we do get a lot of rain and wind. I like to lean a little on the overdo instead of underdo side, but do have budget limitations. I'm planning on using two 8"x8"x8' posts (undecided wood, but nothing too fancy), supporting a tripled 2"x12" beam - spanning 12'10", and 2"x8"x16' rafters (maybe longer if needed for attaining appropriate pitch) spanning about 10'. I'm planning on tying into existing roof and house frame, bearing load on exterior wall - not excited to add more posts to bear weight unless it's just way more practical than tying in. I likely will build a knee wall (to get enough pitch) on top of the exterior wall (obviously removing some roofing elements) and attaching new rafters to existing rafters. I'm still looking over loads for concrete footings, but looking at forming up some 18"x18" concrete pads (maybe sonotubes... what size if so?), going down 2'-3' with a good sized (24" bell?) and a piece of rebar stuck in the middle. Still deciding if I want to set post anchors in concrete or use some redheads once the concrete has cured (input here appreciated).