Decking business advice

Old 04-20-16, 08:12 PM
M
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Decking business advice

Hey everyone. I am new to the site and am looking for some guidance and outside opinion. I am not an expert in any means but I know quite a bit about woodworking and carpentry without ever doing it professionally. I have recently came into an opportunity to buy a small deck building business with a partner for $20-25k (10-12.5k each). This includes a 2012 van, tractor with posthole digger, laser, and about three of every carpentry tool you could imagine. I am not sure if this is a good idea or not but I feel the equipment alone is worth more than the asking price. What are some factors I need to look at before buying this business. Any and all advice is appreciated. Thanks!

Old 04-20-16, 11:27 PM
P
Temporarily Suspended
Why is the business for sale? It doesn't sound like you looked at the books yet. What are the profits, taxes, employee overhead, etc....? Does your potential partner know more about it than you?

Old 04-21-16, 04:05 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 384 Votes on 340 Posts
Welcome to the forums!
Buying a company's tools/inventory is one thing but when buying the business you need to know their customer base, reputation and whether or not that value will help pay you back.

Old 04-21-16, 06:57 AM
P
Temporarily Suspended
I thought of some more questions. What % of homes already have decks? Have licensing & permit laws changed recently?

Old 04-21-16, 10:06 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Also, why is the business being sold?

Old 04-21-16, 10:39 AM
M
The owner of the business is 84 and ready to get out of the business. I am not sure the percentage of homes in the inediate area do not have decks but our intention would be to expand advertisement into developing areas closer to the suburbs of Chicago. I am not away of any laws or permit requirements changing.

Old 04-21-16, 01:50 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
84 yrs old sounds like a good time to retire