Cedar Wood Deck Care- No To Pressure Washing?

Old 05-11-24, 10:22 AM
M
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Cedar Wood Deck Care- No To Pressure Washing?

Any cleaning solutions recommended for cedar wood? I've read it's not recommended to pressure wash this type of wood. I made the mistake of leaving a rug covering a majority of the deck over the winter. There are also other dark spots from debris from the tree above.

Top Answer

05-12-24, 02:13 AM
marksr
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 874 Upvotes on 765 Posts
I have heard that chlorine bleach can damage wood.
I've been using bleach to clean decks for over 50 yrs. As far as I know the only way you'd hurt the wood would be to leave uncut bleach on for too long. The bigger danger is using too much pressure - pressure washing with the wrong tip or tip too close to the wood.

I wet the deck, apply the bleach solution with a pump up garden sprayer and then rinse well before it dries.

Old 05-11-24, 11:03 AM
P
Group Moderator
Received 2,316 Upvotes on 2,061 Posts
There are a number of deck cleaning products you can use. More mild ones are soaps. You apply and can scrub the deck with a stiff bristled brush or push broom. For something more aggressive there are outdoor cleaners that also contain bleach. They are harder on the wood but the bleaching provides a brightening without as much scrubbing.