DIY bathroom remodel

Old 02-09-17, 03:07 PM
B
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
DIY bathroom remodel

I have an older bathroom I'd like to remodel myself. I am currently out of work and would like to put this time to good use.

The bathroom is 10 x 8 roughly and has a double sink, toilet and whirlpool shower tub combo, and some closet space. My plan is to do a smaller tub and build a custom shower (extra space will be reclaimed by knocking out closet).

I have another bathroom in my apartment. I also have a friend who can help from time to time.

I have some elementary construction skills - i've hung a pre-hung door before. I'm a decent mechanic (rebuilt motorcycle fork).

I have some basic tools - table saw, drills, etc. I realize i'll have to buy new tools (tile saw) and borrow some from my father.

I have a basic understanding of plumbing (vents, p-traps, pipe angles) and electricity. Enough of an understanding that i know i will need to hire a plumber and possibly an electrician.

Do you guys think this is a project I can take on?

Name:  r1.jpg
Views: 723
Size:  32.3 KB

Name:  r2.jpg
Views: 816
Size:  32.1 KB

Name:  r3.jpg
Views: 767
Size:  44.1 KB

Name:  r4.jpg
Views: 881
Size:  45.4 KB

Name:  r5.jpg
Views: 283
Size:  30.2 KB

Last edited by PJmax; 02-09-17 at 03:44 PM. Reason: reoriented pictures
Old 02-09-17, 03:17 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Received 9 Upvotes on 8 Posts
It certainly is a DIY project. First rule of thumb. Gut it all out down to studs. Even if you plan on using some items back, get them out of the way, remove the tile that was installed by a 4th grader and all the backing. Your tub may present special challenges due to its size and weight, plus the surround.

Once you have it back to studs, you can modify or upgrade your electrical, check on the plumbing, install new tub/shower controls, etc.

Old 02-09-17, 03:17 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 835 Upvotes on 732 Posts