Need help adding exhaust vent in kitchen

Old 12-06-17, 06:17 PM
E
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Need help adding exhaust vent in kitchen

My kitchen does not have an exhaust system currently and i would like to put one in. I am a beginner DIYer and honestly don’t know what I need for the project and what steps are involved. But I think this project should be easy enough for an average DIY homeowner. Biggest issue I see is the stove is away from the outside wall so I will need to drill holes and run ducts.

I have included picture of my kitchen for your reference. The small room on the right (under C) is for the back entrance (size abt 4ft x 4ft, back entrance is not being used currently), Point D in the pic is the external wall. Behind the microwave wall, there is a storage cabinet (not visible in the pic) so I should be able to run the ducts concealed through that cabinet upto point B. From point B, I will have to run the duct close to the ceiling of the small room (behind C) all the way to point D (duct will not be visible from where the picture is taken but will be visible if you look up while standing in the small room). I was thinking to cut open the outside vent where I marked D. On the outside, I have wood cedar siding.

I am also not sure what kind of exhaust fan should I get. My current microwave, which I installed few months ago, has a fan (not sure if this fan would be strong enough to connect to a duct for the exhaust or i should get a new stronger fan.

I will appreciate if someone can list the parts I am going to need for this project and steps on how to execute.

Attached Images  
Old 12-06-17, 07:22 PM
Group Moderator
Received 1,910 Upvotes on 1,716 Posts