Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Interior Improvement Center > Doors, Skylights and Windows
Reload this Page >

Installing an octagon window in existing octagon window.

Old 04-02-16, 11:31 AM
T
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts

Hey guys, I am a total newbie so please explain clearly.

I basically have an old octagon window that broke. I actually already bought a new VENTING OCTAGON window.

The outside rough opening is exactly 23 and 1/2 inches and is BRICK because its a brick house.

The rough opening of my window is 23 inches.

Will this fit? I only have about 1/4 of an inch so i cant build a wood frame to the brick opening..

What should i do?

Can i use thin 1/4 inch wood pieces just so that i can fill the void and screw the window right into the bricks with a masonry screw and drill?

Attached Images  
Old 04-02-16, 11:32 AM
Group Moderator
Received 1,910 Upvotes on 1,716 Posts
Why arent you just replacing the glass, if that's what is broke?

At any rate, no you don't fasten the window to the bricks, you fasten it through the jamb to the wall framing. Brick houses are rarely All brick. If yours is, then yeah I guess you would need to fasten the jambs to brick.

Old 04-02-16, 11:34 AM
T
Also, in the picture, you see the white outer trim area? Is that suppose to be flat in the bricks or it is suppose to be sticking out? Because if i measure this whole area from end to end, it is about 25 inches which really wont fit into the bricks rough opening which is only 23 and a 1/2.

Old 04-02-16, 11:37 AM
T
If i fasten it to the wall framing, then i would have to make the rough opening of the bricks larger so that the whole window could fit in flush to the bricks.

Is that how it supposed to be installed? I see pictures of octagon windows online with the outer part sticking out and not flush.

Old 04-02-16, 11:37 AM
Group Moderator