making hollow core doors solid


  #1  
Old 03-18-17, 02:12 PM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 502
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
making hollow core doors solid

I need a few brand new doors as I finished my basement area and noticed that slabs made with hollow core are as cheap as $35, while solid doors are way more expensive....close to $100 (in the design I like)

Do you think it would be possible and feasible to simply shove a lot of Roxul Sound'n Safe insulation between the panels of the hollow core doors, since I will have to trim them to my specific size anyhow... ?

I only need that for 2 doors and already have some left over Roxul insulation.... would buy doors, trim on the bottom to my desired height and stuff it with the insulation.

What you think ?
 
  #2  
Old 03-18-17, 02:27 PM
P
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 25,100
Received 869 Votes on 799 Posts
No, I don't think that will work. Most hollow core doors are not totally hollow. They have a cardboard/paper honeycomb core. If you drill a hole or knock a hole you will only have access to one cell in the honeycomb. If you want a solid door it's best to buy a solid door.
 
  #3  
Old 03-18-17, 02:30 PM
XSleeper's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 27,069
Received 901 Votes on 827 Posts
It DEFINITELY wont work.....
 
  #4  
Old 03-19-17, 03:28 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA - N.E.Tn
Posts: 48,088
Received 398 Votes on 354 Posts
If you've ever cut down a hollow core door you'd understand why that won't work. Any special reason you need a solid door? IMO masonite doors paint up nicer than solid wood panel doors.
 
  #5  
Old 03-19-17, 03:40 AM
Norm201's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 9,982
Received 341 Votes on 307 Posts
If you must cut down a hollow door, you must remove the top or bottom rails, cut the skin and re-insert the rails. And as the others have said, you cannot fully insulate a hollow door.Name:  Capture.JPG
Views: 94
Size:  14.4 KB
 
  #6  
Old 03-19-17, 03:47 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA - N.E.Tn
Posts: 48,088
Received 398 Votes on 354 Posts
It's a lot quicker/easier to rip a new bottom rail than it is to salvage and reuse the factory one! I rip a 2x to fit.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: