Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Interior Improvement Center > Doors, Skylights and Windows
Reload this Page >

Do I have to use OIL primer to re glaze windows?

Old 08-21-18, 03:03 AM
B
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts

Am I going to have to break down and use oil primer for re glazing some windows that I have?

I guess it's not ok to use a latex primer?

Do you primer under and then on top of the new glazing once it dries?

I bought a jar of Dap 33 I believe and thought it would be as simple as just putting in the new glazing and then it dried over night. I didn't realize that you have to primer and paint the glazing and use oil primer, etc. I've never painted with oil paints and dread having to clean brushes in terpentine and stuff I guess, but if I have to ....

Forgot to mention that all the windows are covered by storm windows. Don't know if this changes anything, probably not, but thought I'd mention it.

I've never done any of this before.

Thanks

Sponsored Links
Old 08-21-18, 03:08 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 312 Votes on 278 Posts
Priming the wood first prevents the wood from sucking any oil out of the glazing giving it a longer life. Oil primer is better but latex primer should be ok. Just make sure it's dried well first. You'd also want to give the glazing extra drying time before you prime it with latex.

Turpentine costs too much and hasn't been used to clean brushes since the 60s. Mineral spirits is used the most but even gasoline will work.

Old 08-21-18, 04:20 AM
B
Thanks Marksr! So I can use latex primer great!

Is paint thinner mineral spirits?

Old 08-21-18, 04:31 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Mineral spirits is often called paint thinner. DAP glazing is kind of oily so you'll want thinner [gas or kerosene also work] to clean up your fingers when you are done.

Old 08-21-18, 04:42 AM
B
Originally Posted by marksr View Post