Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Interior Decorating, Design, Painting, Upholstery and Fabrics Center > Draperies and Top Treatments
Reload this Page >

How to fix curtains that are no longer close/open when pulling the ropes?

How to fix curtains that are no longer close/open when pulling the ropes?

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-11-16, 08:50 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 953
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
How to fix curtains that are no longer close/open when pulling the ropes?

I have a window that contains two curtains, left and right. It opens the right side but can't close when pulling the string. If we manually open the left side then we can pull the string to close. Any help is resolving this issue is much appreciated.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-11-16, 09:25 AM
C
Member
Join Date: May 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 3,138
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
Most likely you have a broken cord in the traverse rod. Usually it's an easy fix. If the cord is in otherwise good condition you can often just tie a knot to fix it, otherwise the cord is readily available.

Here are some instructions, a search for restringing traverse rod will get you many more and videos:

Traverse Rod Restring Instructions
 
  #3  
Old 12-27-16, 01:41 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 953
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes that is the main cause but I also found two broken parts too. Here's the first part - front and back.

Name:  20161227_203230857_iOS.jpg
Views: 5177
Size:  50.1 KB
Name:  20161227_203255971_iOS.jpg
Views: 4989
Size:  50.2 KB

And this is another part from side and top view.

Name:  20161227_203319763_iOS.jpg
Views: 5032
Size:  50.9 KB
Name:  20161227_203331718_iOS.jpg
Views: 4929
Size:  49.8 KB

Does anyone know where I can get these two parts?
 
  #4  
Old 12-27-16, 02:48 PM
C
Member
Join Date: May 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 3,138
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
The first two pictures look like parts of the traveler, the part that moves back and forth to move the drapes. I doubt you will find replacements unless you can identify the manufacturer of the rod from a label somewhere.
 
  #5  
Old 12-27-16, 03:19 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 953
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Okay, so I assumed I have to purchase a new set, correct? What's the whole thing call without the curtain because I already have the curtain?
 
  #6  
Old 12-27-16, 03:42 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 953
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the help. I found this site that I think has the parts I needed.
 
  #7  
Old 12-27-16, 05:07 PM
Shadeladie's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: PA - USA
Posts: 4,552
Received 125 Votes on 97 Posts
Is your rod a Graber or Kirsch? If not, it probably won't fit. Utility traverse rods are pretty inexpensive. You might be better off just getting a new one.
 
  #8  
Old 12-27-16, 07:24 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 953
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I don't know what brand mine is. Where should I look on the unity?
 
  #9  
Old 12-28-16, 12:42 PM
Shadeladie's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: PA - USA
Posts: 4,552
Received 125 Votes on 97 Posts
Sorry, I'm not sure. I'd think it would be on the back of it somewhere. Could be an off brand.
Did you buy it originally?
 
  #10  
Old 01-08-17, 10:04 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 953
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Okay, I got the replacement part. Is there an easy way to tie these two things so that when pull one string, it opens and pull the other string, both closes to the center? I think I got it to open and close but my issues right now is that it is VERY hard to close and open. I have to really pull the ropes.
 
  #11  
Old 01-13-17, 08:11 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 953
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
This is what it looks like. Again, it looks to be working but it's really hard to pull to open and close.
Name:  20161231_233908979_iOS.jpg
Views: 4986
Size:  25.2 KB
I think the picture showed it incorrectly done but I wonder if there is a better way to do so when pulling, it's much smoother.
 
  #12  
Old 01-13-17, 11:23 AM
Shadeladie's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: PA - USA
Posts: 4,552
Received 125 Votes on 97 Posts
Maybe try spraying the track and carriers with Silicone spray (remove or cover up the curtains first) and see if that helps.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: