Return air question

Old 05-30-18, 01:24 PM
C
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Return air question

I've been looking a lot into return air positioning lately in my home. I'm a sparky by trade but have had to learn some air flow rules aty current contract. What I have iny home just doesn't make sense to me. I live in Toronto Canada where -10 to 100f temps can happen very fast.

I currently have one 12 by 12 return iny basement and two 32 by 10 returns located near the floor of my raised bungalow. In the summer it stay too hot upstairs. Yety basement is freezing. One of the returns is at the top of the stairs and it's noticeably cooler near it. Am I out to lunch thinking that the best config for the returns is to have a larger one in the basement to pull the cool air in and heat it in the winter for the best Delta t and near the ceiling for the summer for the hottest air and same reason with the ability to close either vent? My house is about 1100sq ft upstairs with a 1.5ton AC unit. What size return would I need to put in to maintain static pressure in the fan?

Does anyone know where I can purchase return air grills with functioning louvers?

Old 05-30-18, 04:04 PM
Received 1,210 Upvotes on 1,098 Posts
Very common with two story house. Best option is to just throttle the supply ducts down on the first floor forcing air to second. Not perfect but not a lot to work with.

Vents with louvers are available at all the big box stores!

Old 05-30-18, 05:00 PM
Group Moderator
Received 3,952 Upvotes on 3,545 Posts
Sounds like you have a gas furnace and the A/C was added to it. The returns are usually installed low near the floor to pick up the cold air in the winter. That works good in the winter but in the summer you need the returns at the ceiling to draw the warm air out.

Many homes are now built with a low return and a high return with louvers on them for seasonal changes. It's pretty hard to do it later without opening the walls.