GE Washer stops at Rinse Cycle

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-12-16, 04:25 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
GE Washer stops at Rinse Cycle

Model #GTUP270EM1WW

Hello!

My stacked washer/dryer stopped right at the rinse cycle...setting on just a spin doesn't work either. Goes through wash, agitates, and drains fine.

Service mode indicated both "Blocked Motor" code and "Overflow" code.

I've checked drain pump and pressure hose since thats about all I know how to do. I did also try to reset the motor based on the service manual. Do the error codes need to be reset?

When the machine freezes at rinse I hear a series of clicking and clacking
and then nothing, no humming from I can tell either. Any feedback appreciated.

Edit: Is it possible the "Overflow" error code is causing the "blocked Motor" code? Would something like replacing the pressure switch be a possible fix?
 

Last edited by rossgo; 09-12-16 at 05:07 PM.
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-13-16, 04:34 AM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 9,029
Received 74 Votes on 67 Posts
Sorry for not answering last night. Many problems with this washer. Came out about a year before I retired and am bot fully know machine. Had found many control board problems, also tub bearings.to name a few I have found. Not sure about your trouble but what is the code it is giving. Not what it says.
 
  #3  
Old 09-13-16, 12:50 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Well when it freezes the 'Lid Locked' light is on, and the 'rinse' light is blinking.

Same applies when i try to do just a spin.

Hope that is what you were asking, thank you for replying.
 
  #4  
Old 09-13-16, 03:07 PM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 9,029
Received 74 Votes on 67 Posts
I think there is a tech sheet behind panel between washer and dryer. Tech sheet will tell you how to get into test mode. I found a service manual the diagnostics start on page 76
http://www.manualslib.com/manual/782...ww.html#manual
 

Last edited by pugsl; 09-13-16 at 03:27 PM.
  #5  
Old 09-13-16, 03:38 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I ran it though the service mode and those two error codes are what it showed.

"Blocked Motor" code and "Overflow" code.

using this table:

GE GTUP270EMWW Service Manual (Page 83 of 101)

Thank you.
 
  #6  
Old 09-13-16, 06:56 PM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 9,029
Received 74 Votes on 67 Posts
Service manual almost useless, Pg 85 and 97 tell what codes are but not what to do to fix or check them. Pg 97 tells you how to clear codes,
 
  #7  
Old 09-15-16, 04:37 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
UPDATE: After researching all the most common problems associated with my machine...I decided to give it one last shot. I manually tested the belt, made sure it could agitate and rotate the drum, which it did although there seemed to be a slight hiccup whole rotating the drum. Set the machine in diagnostic mode and tested the spin cycle, I could hear the motor humming but no movement so I gave it a little help and turned it manually. i heard a small clicking sound (maybe something was stuck in there?) and it started spinning! It was a beautiful sight ☺️

Ran a load last night without any issues.
 
  #8  
Old 09-16-16, 05:08 AM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 9,029
Received 74 Votes on 67 Posts
Sounds like swifter may have been stuck. Replaced many on Whirlpool similar washers. All new technology that has been coming in the last 5 years.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: