Estate dryer not heating


  #1  
Old 09-27-16, 09:05 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 24
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Estate dryer not heating

Hello again,

We recently just moved into a house and was given a washer dryer set. I am having an issue with the dryer. The dryer brand is estate and it is not heating regularly. The dryer came with a four prong electrical cord and switched it to a 3 pronged cord. I have tried to dry multiple loads in this dryer and some times it warms but most times it's cool air trying to dry my clothes. I have tested all the various types of heat control ( for example, auto dry and timed dry) but have been unsuccessful. Any help would be appreciated. Thank you in advance.
 
  #2  
Old 09-27-16, 10:04 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,087
Received 1,509 Votes on 1,396 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

Your Estate dryer is manufactured by Whirlpool. We're going to need a model number for it.
 
  #3  
Old 09-28-16, 03:38 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 24
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Sorry about that. Model number is EED4400WQ0.
 
  #4  
Old 09-28-16, 05:36 AM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 9,029
Received 76 Votes on 69 Posts
Very rare for dryer to have intermittent heat, Try this, turn dryer on in heat cycle, run dryer for a couple of minutes, Open door and feel in dryer for heat. If heats go outside and feel air flow from vent. Go behind dryer and disconnect vent from dryer and than feel air flow, should be about same. While back there make sure vent tube is not crushed. Let us know what you find.
 
  #5  
Old 09-28-16, 06:23 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 24
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
All air feels the same and it's cool air. Vent tube is good.
 
  #6  
Old 09-28-16, 10:23 AM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 9,029
Received 76 Votes on 69 Posts
You will need a meter for these tests.
UNPLUG DRYER
Take back off, 2 thermostats on heater box and heater element all should have continuity, Any opens are bad.
 
  #7  
Old 09-30-16, 02:19 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 24
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Sorry I have been out of town got back in last night. Can you explain how you test? I have a digital multimeter but just need to know where to place them.
 
  #8  
Old 09-30-16, 02:36 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 24
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
found out how to test thermometer and fuse. both have continuity.
 
  #9  
Old 09-30-16, 03:50 PM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 9,029
Received 76 Votes on 69 Posts
What thermometer ??? Thermostats (2) of heater did you test heater element. 2 (I think) red wires on side of heater box bottom.
 
  #10  
Old 10-01-16, 08:57 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 24
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I have tested everything that I could see to test. I am including pictures to help you visualize what I tested. Name:  IMG_1663.jpg
Views: 195
Size:  31.2 KBName:  IMG_1671.jpg
Views: 263
Size:  29.3 KBName:  IMG_1665.jpg
Views: 186
Size:  28.7 KBName:  IMG_1669.jpg
Views: 152
Size:  28.6 KB
 
  #11  
Old 10-01-16, 09:01 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 24
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I missed one picture sorry about that. Name:  IMG_1664.jpg
Views: 168
Size:  31.9 KB
 
  #12  
Old 10-01-16, 02:24 PM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 9,029
Received 76 Votes on 69 Posts
I can't see the what the meter says in all pictures. I guess you have continuity through all components. The usual one's to go out is the hi limit thermostat and heater element. (hi limit ) upper thermostat. Did you check for 240 volts at wall and at back of dryer. Look for burnt wires where cord connects to dryer.
 
  #13  
Old 10-01-16, 02:40 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 24
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
They all have continuity except for the picture where i'm testing there thermometer (i think) on the heating element. The meter read 007, 008 on that one. All the others showed 000. I bought a dryer for $30 today and it works great so I don't think it is the wall outlet.
 
  #14  
Old 10-02-16, 04:33 AM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 9,029
Received 76 Votes on 69 Posts
Are you talking about the picture where you are testing the upper thermostat? Trying to get wrap my head around what part you are talking about. There are no thermometer in dryer. That part should read 0. On your meter there is a continuity setting. Put your leads together and turn knob until it buzzes or beeps. That is the setting to use. No noise means a open and is bad. You can use ohm setting also but faster for this is to use continuity setting.
The upper thermostat is a common part to go bad. If bad replace and than clean the vent to the outside or you will have recurring problems. Let us know what you find.
You have a dryer connected now? turn dryer on and feel air flow outside, Go inside and disconnect vent from dryer and feel air flow there. Should be the same.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: