LG Freezer not working but fridge is


  #1  
Old 01-12-17, 10:08 AM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 3
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
LG Freezer not working but fridge is

I have a LG freezer not working but fridge is working well. The freezer's temperature is oscillating between -18 and 40 Fahrenheit degrees. It makes ice and then they melt. Sear's technician says he is not able to figure it out what is wrong because as far as he knows, the freezer is working. I know somebody in this forum experienced something similar based on his post in July 2013 but he doesn't say if he managed to resolved the issue. Does anybody else can give me some advise as to fix this? Thanks
 
  #2  
Old 01-12-17, 10:32 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 70,925
Received 3,162 Likes on 2,841 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

Are you saying that freezer is changing temp but the fridge is 100% ok ?
I'd need a model number to really be of help.
 
  #3  
Old 01-12-17, 02:42 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,964
Likes: 0
Received 9 Likes on 8 Posts
Is it a model that has separate compressors? My Samsung has a compressor for the refrigerator and one for the freezer.
 
  #4  
Old 01-14-17, 05:10 AM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 3
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Correct, fridge is working fine. Model is LFC21776ST. I appreciate any help.
 

Last edited by Narvaez; 01-14-17 at 05:14 AM. Reason: Typo
  #5  
Old 01-14-17, 06:29 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,964
Likes: 0
Received 9 Likes on 8 Posts
The linear compressor uses vent doors to regulate cold and cool, so there may be a problem with the venting. The compressor has a 10 year warranty.
 
  #6  
Old 01-14-17, 12:32 PM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 3
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Sears installed a new compressor back in August, do you think there must be something wrong with the new compressor? If they installed the wrong part, do you think the vents door may not be working? I ask this because they first tried to fix the issue replacing the main board but they installed the wrong part and realized it after the issue persisted.
 
  #7  
Old 01-14-17, 02:09 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,964
Likes: 0
Received 9 Likes on 8 Posts
It appears to be boiling down to the blend doors, to me. If Sears installed the wrong board it may not be viable now, and will need to be replaced by the correct board. Or the blend doors may be physically obstructed by something, not excluding ice formation.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: