Whirlpool top freezer not freezing

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-07-17, 02:25 PM
U
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Chicago suburbs
Posts: 413
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Whirlpool top freezer not freezing

Whirlpool top freezer not freezing
Whirlpool top freezer/refrigerator model WRT579SMYM00.

The first problem I had in June was the motor/fan that circulates the air into the freezer and refrigerator failed. I replaced the motor/fan and the refrigerator/freezer worked great all summer.

Yesterday, we plugged in the refrigerator and put a refrigerator thermometer right where the air gets blown into the freezer. The temp of the air coming in to the freezer is only 33F - 35F (at best), and the temp in the refrigerator is on the warm side I assume because it's not getting a freezing cold air source.

Where do I start with this problem? Thanks!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-07-17, 04:11 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,139
Received 1,113 Votes on 1,033 Posts
Normally I'd say it was an icing problem but not if you just started it running a day ago.

Can we assume the fan you replaced is working ?
Does the compressor run all the time ?
 
  #3  
Old 10-07-17, 05:24 PM
U
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Chicago suburbs
Posts: 413
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by PJmax View Post
Normally I'd say it was an icing problem but not if you just started it running a day ago.

Can we assume the fan you replaced is working ?
Does the compressor run all the time ?
Thanks for your time Pete.

Yup, the fan is running because I feel air flowing out of the freezer and refrigerator openings in the back.

Also, the ice maker is not making any ice.

How would I know if the compressor is running the entire time?
 
  #4  
Old 10-07-17, 05:35 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,139
Received 1,113 Votes on 1,033 Posts
It needs to get at least below 15 degrees for the ice maker to harvest.

Usually you can hear it and it's cooling fan running under the fridge.
That brings up another point.... maybe the cooling fins under the fridge need to be cleaned. It's considered an annual maintenance item.
 
  #5  
Old 10-07-17, 06:56 PM
U
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Chicago suburbs
Posts: 413
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I pulled the bottom cover off the fridge and I see some cooling fins that look like a metal grid. They look pretty clean, however, I have no idea what is going on behind the refrigerator.

If the coolling fins are clean, what's the next likely culprit? Compressor going bad?
 
  #6  
Old 10-07-17, 08:07 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,139
Received 1,113 Votes on 1,033 Posts
If the compressor runs continuously and the box doesn't get cold.... it could indicate a low refrigerant issue.
 
  #7  
Old 10-07-17, 08:57 PM
U
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Chicago suburbs
Posts: 413
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by PJmax View Post
If the compressor runs continuously and the box doesn't get cold.... it could indicate a low refrigerant issue.
Thanks again Pete for your time.

So I guess I gotta pull the fridge out and figure out where the compressor is and see if it is running continuously. I'm not even sure where it is : )

Is the replacement of the compressor and/or low refrigerant issue fixable?

Is that a DIY job or do I have to call a guy?
 
  #8  
Old 10-07-17, 09:09 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,139
Received 1,113 Votes on 1,033 Posts
With that model I'm seeing a date of 2011.
That would place that fridge at roughly six years old. Is that correct ?

Unfortunately if it's a leak it usually means it's in the evaporator (inside cold coil). That can be a costly repair. Finding and repairing from a leak requires refrigerant handling and a tech.

Turn the fridge off. It should be quiet. Now turn the thermostat all the way up. You should hear the hum of the compressor and the fan.
 
  #9  
Old 10-07-17, 09:59 PM
U
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Chicago suburbs
Posts: 413
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by PJmax View Post
With that model I'm seeing a date of 2011.
That would place that fridge at roughly six years old. Is that correct ?

Unfortunately if it's a leak it usually means it's in the evaporator (inside cold coil). That can be a costly repair. Finding and repairing from a leak requires refrigerant handling and a tech.

Turn the fridge off. It should be quiet. Now turn the thermostat all the way up. You should hear the hum of the compressor and the fan.
Yeah, it's about a 2011.

I turned it off, then turned it back on. It took about 10 minutes for me to hear a hum from the bottom of the refrigerator, but I definitely heard a separate hum. I can't say I heard a fan AND the compressor (don't know what each sounds like), but definitely a hum. Then the fan in the freezer kicked on maybe 30 seconds later after the compressor hum.

https://www.searspartsdirect.com/mod...8/0166000.html
Does the compressor have a fan co-located with it? The parts list you guys gave me when you helped me last time only shows a compressor and a separate fan up in the freezer section.

P.S. After a couple hours, I think the compressor has been running continuously.
 

Last edited by ualdriver; 10-08-17 at 12:32 AM.
  #10  
Old 10-08-17, 01:31 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,139
Received 1,113 Votes on 1,033 Posts
Under "unit parts" it is #24..... condensor fan.

After the unit has been off for a while the compressor will run the better part of a day to recool the box.
 
  #11  
Old 10-08-17, 01:43 PM
U
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Chicago suburbs
Posts: 413
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by PJmax View Post
Under "unit parts" it is #24..... condensor fan.

After the unit has been off for a while the compressor will run the better part of a day to recool the box.
.
Thanks PJ.

I see it now. So if I pull the refrigerator out and the compressor is running, that fan should be running correct? Further, if that fan ISN'T running, would that cause the problem I am having with the discharge air in the freezer only getting to 34 degrees or so?

And where is that fan anyway?
 
  #12  
Old 10-08-17, 04:00 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,139
Received 1,113 Votes on 1,033 Posts
Yes... that will keep the fridge temperature from reaching it's target.

Where is the fan ?
Try removing the front kickplate. If you don't see it then it's in the back,
 
  #13  
Old 10-08-17, 04:46 PM
U
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Chicago suburbs
Posts: 413
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by PJmax View Post
Yes... that will keep the fridge temperature from reaching it's target.

Where is the fan ?
Try removing the front kickplate. If you don't see it then it's in the back,
.
Thanks so much Pete. I'm going to pull the fridge when I get home and look for that fan. If the fan isn't turning I'll replace it otherwise, I'm going to call a repair guy/gal to look for a leak and/or repair the compressor.

I'll report back with the fix in case anyone else ever has the same problem.
 
  #14  
Old 10-08-17, 06:04 PM
D
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 517
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
That must be a common problem with Whirlpool. I have a fairly new ( a few months) WRT104TFDT01. I'm in a rental & it's under warranty so I'll notify the landlady. Out of curiosity, I put the dial to off & the freezer to minimum. I restarted it & heard both the fan & the compressor start. The fan continued run but I don't think the compressor did. The existing ice stayed frozen but the new ice never totally froze.
 
  #15  
Old 10-12-17, 12:22 PM
D
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 517
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
PC Richard sent an LG mechanic instead of a Whirlpool mechanic who said that he couldn't do anything but told me that he thinks that the defroster clock is bad since it somewhat freezes. What a waste of time!
 
  #16  
Old 10-12-17, 09:47 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,139
Received 1,113 Votes on 1,033 Posts
That Whirlpool fridge doesn't use a timer. It uses an adaptive electronic defrost control board.
 
  #17  
Old 10-18-17, 06:42 AM
D
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 517
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It looks like you are right. A Whirpool guy came & said that it was low on Freon which was my guess. He also said that someone else had to come to replace the compressor & seal the system, who knows when? I told the owner that it's up to her if she wants to fight for a new unit.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: