why wont sears install dishwashers with copper pipe?


  #1  
Old 09-09-18, 03:19 PM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: PA
Posts: 2,313
Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts
why wont sears install dishwashers with copper pipe?

my mom had one installed and the guy said he had to rip out the copper tubing cause sears wont permit him to install it with it. he charged 45 to put 4 ft plastic in. then she said in the old days you use to get a lot of money for that copper and he said no not anymore

so why wouldnt copper be permitted for a dishwasher install?
 
  #2  
Old 09-09-18, 04:40 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 71,073
Received 3,194 Likes on 2,869 Posts
I have absolutely no idea and cannot think of one reason why the copper could not be connected to the water valve adapter. Maybe he didn't have the right copper compression fitting ?

Copper is still worth money. It's always been on a per pound basis. It's a commodities item so between that, current stock levels and current demand..... the price fluctuates. It can bring anywhere from $2-3 a pound.

Current market value is $2.69 per pound.
 
  #3  
Old 09-09-18, 05:16 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,575
Likes: 0
Received 15 Likes on 13 Posts
The delivery people are hired because they have a class C driver's license not for plumber training. Sometimes a flare fitting will leak slightly and need to be redone. The plastic supply lines use rubber gaskets and maybe give slightly less trouble.. Drivers are working on a schedule so quickness not slowed by a problem old line is important to the ,managers bonuses for meeting goals set by corporate.
 
  #4  
Old 09-09-18, 05:30 PM
XSleeper's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 29,448
Received 1,583 Likes on 1,418 Posts
It's probably because it's much easier and faster to use a braided stainless steel or reinforced poly supply line that is flexible. No liability of using a torch in your house and burning the house down.
 
  #5  
Old 09-09-18, 06:47 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 5,006
Received 125 Likes on 110 Posts
A couple of box store install rip off storyes to show this is common practice.
I was there when they delivered a new electric stove and Ref. with an ice maker.
There's two doors to get into the house the front main door that even has a handicap ramp is a 36" door, the side door is only 32".
They started removing the storm door, and main door on the 32" door instead of just rolling them through the larger door.
He brings the stove in and tells the owner she has to pay him extra for the feet in the back to keep the stove from tipping because they do not come with the stove. (not true, they were in the bag with the instrutions inside the stove)
Then tells her she has to pay extra for a new cord because it was against code to use the old one. (also not true and the cord on it was a new 4 wire cord installed when the house was rewired last year)
Then he refuses to hook up the ice maker because it had the wrong shutoff valve. (also not true, it was a brand new ball valve I'd installed the day before.)
Second case one of my customers had to pay $500.00 to install an electric water heater. It was the exact same size, in an open garage with nothing in the way, he even used the old flex lines to connect it, no soldering needed.
He takes the old one out and leaves the wires unconnected and tells her she has to hire an electrition to connect it!
Lowes sends someone out a week later, so now they have been without hot water for a week and charges her $200 to connect 3 wires and turn on a breaker! He was in and out in 15 min.
$700.00 to install one $300.00 water heater, boy am I in the wrong business
 
  #6  
Old 09-09-18, 07:12 PM
Norm201's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 11,497
Received 625 Likes on 555 Posts
It's probably because it's much easier and faster to use a braided stainless steel or reinforced poly supply line that is flexible. No liability of using a torch in your house and burning the house down.
I think XSPLR hit it right on. They lied. But in this case it's probably for the best.
 
  #7  
Old 09-10-18, 04:07 AM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 9,029
Received 76 Likes on 69 Posts
I worked for Sears as a repair tech. Simple reason is liability. copper can leak if done wrong or crack if bent all can cause problems. One of the biggest problems we had is floor damage. a small scratch can lead to a complete floor replacement. Water leak is worse.
 
  #8  
Old 09-10-18, 09:33 AM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: PA
Posts: 2,313
Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts
ok sears is coming to install an oven in my house next wee. give me the fire power to thrwart their evil ways what kind of shennanigans do you expect them to try?

are they gonna charge me to get a new junction box? or say this is too ugly lol
 
Attached Images   
  #9  
Old 09-10-18, 10:12 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 71,073
Received 3,194 Likes on 2,869 Posts
It's not too ugly but it is too small. At the minimum I would use a deep 4" square (1900) box.
 
  #10  
Old 09-10-18, 10:42 AM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: PA
Posts: 2,313
Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts
ok so basically i should go get one now so they cannot pull some 'code' statement on me. i can do it this weekend since oven is delayed
 
  #11  
Old 09-10-18, 10:50 AM
Norm201's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 11,497
Received 625 Likes on 555 Posts
I've been told that you should not re use flex connection. From appliance to appliance.
 
  #12  
Old 09-10-18, 11:21 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 71,073
Received 3,194 Likes on 2,869 Posts
That's only for flexible gas lines.
 
  #13  
Old 09-10-18, 02:01 PM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: PA
Posts: 2,313
Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts
Originally Posted by PJmax View Post
It's not too ugly but it is too small. At the minimum I would use a deep 4" square (1900) box.
regarding the box for my oven. i'm assuming the 4 inch you speak of is standard in the big box stores. would it matter pvc or metal?
 
  #14  
Old 09-10-18, 03:00 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 71,073
Received 3,194 Likes on 2,869 Posts
The whip will most likely be metal..... stay with a metal box.

Name:  4 ox.jpg
Views: 941
Size:  8.5 KB
 
  #15  
Old 09-10-18, 05:06 PM
A
Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 4,966
Likes: 0
Received 231 Likes on 212 Posts
You can get (metal) box extensions (rings) for several sizes of boxes including octagon boxes, to make for a box with more space inside.
 
  #16  
Old 09-10-18, 05:46 PM
XSleeper's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 29,448
Received 1,583 Likes on 1,418 Posts
What's with the unprotected wire? Shouldn't that be in mc too?
 
  #17  
Old 09-10-18, 07:41 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 71,073
Received 3,194 Likes on 2,869 Posts
The supply wiring is NM type wiring and is ok as it looks to be in an inaccessible part of the cabinet and exempt from damage.
 
  #18  
Old 09-11-18, 06:59 AM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: PA
Posts: 2,313
Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts
should i hang the new box on the strip on the back wall?

old box was just 'hanging around'
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: