Wine Cooler cooling too much


  #1  
Old 04-28-23, 08:18 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 361
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Wine Cooler cooling too much

I have and Edgestar wine refrigerator (Model CWR532SZ) that has developed an error code of "Lo". According to the manual, this means it is cooling too much and getting the compartment too cold. Does this mean the thermostat has failed? If not, what else might be the cause?
 
  #2  
Old 04-28-23, 09:00 AM
C
Member
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2,506
Received 351 Upvotes on 294 Posts
Are you storing reds? If so, what temp is the cooler? Is the temp stable? Can you change the temp with the control panel?

I don't think you would have a problem as reds are usually ok with temps as low as 45*. If the temp is lower than that I would contact the manufacturer's customer service.
 
  #3  
Old 04-28-23, 09:42 AM
P
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 28,328
Received 2,311 Upvotes on 2,056 Posts
Have you checked the temperature inside the fridge with a thermometer? That will help determine if the compressor is actually running too much or if there is possibly a controls or display error.
 
  #4  
Old 04-28-23, 01:13 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 361
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
The thermometer registered 34 degrees when the alarm went off and the "Lo" error appeared.
 
  #5  
Old 04-28-23, 01:42 PM
C
Member
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2,506
Received 351 Upvotes on 294 Posts
Does the inside temp measure 34*? Is the compressor running when the LO error is present?
 
  #6  
Old 04-28-23, 02:32 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 361
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
The thermometer was inside the cooler. The compressor appeared to be running. The only way to stop the alarm is to turn the cooler off.
 
  #7  
Old 04-28-23, 02:48 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,941
Received 4,145 Upvotes on 3,722 Posts
The control board has a relay on it.
If the compressor is not shutting off..... the relay has probably welded shut.

The relay is replaceable if handy soldering.
Otherwise it looks like the board may still be available.
 
  #8  
Old 04-28-23, 07:50 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 361
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thank you. Any suggestions as to where to obtain a new relay?
 
  #9  
Old 04-29-23, 12:36 PM
P
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 28,328
Received 2,311 Upvotes on 2,056 Posts
First, look for numbers on the relay to tell you what it is. Then you can search online. There are suppliers like Digi-Key, Mouser, Jameco... that sell a dizzying array of components which is why it's very important to get numbers from your old relay.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: