Vacuum brush roller modification

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-30-17, 06:27 PM
Y
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Vacuum brush roller modification

I'm not sure if I'm posting this in the right section, if not I apologize to the mods in advance.

I want to bypass the circuit board on this vacuum head. There are three wires coming from the power source and I would like to connect them directly to the motor which only has two wires. Is this possible and how can it be done? Please ignore my shoddy repair work on the red wire near the motor, it will be fixed.

The gray, black, and blue wires come from the power source which is 120 V, 60Hz, 4.2A, 500W

The red and white wires come from the motor which is DC 120V Class A

Name:  rQ7LrFR - Imgur.jpg
Views: 118
Size:  31.9 KB
 
  #2  
Old 04-30-17, 07:46 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,896
Received 1,343 Votes on 1,241 Posts
Your thread is now in the small appliance forum.

Just curious.... why do you consider that a modification ?

If you remove the AC to DC convertor board.... the DC motor will now be running on AC.
You'll end up with a nice smoke machine there.
 
  #3  
Old 05-01-17, 05:02 AM
Y
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I wasn't aware that was an AC to DC convertor board. The brush roller head is supposed to have a "sensor" that turns the roller on when its on carpet and off when its not. I assumed that circuit board was part of the sensor. The sensor no longer works and I want to be able to have the brush roller on all the time. I would be willing to replace the converter if that is what needs to happen.
 
  #4  
Old 05-01-17, 05:09 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,965
Received 6 Votes on 6 Posts
I would think there is a switch/sensor near the roller that tells the board when it reaches carpet. Have you looked in that area, yet? If you give us the brand and model number of the vacuum, we may can help further.
 
  #5  
Old 05-01-17, 11:23 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,896
Received 1,343 Votes on 1,241 Posts
It may not be an actual switch. It may be an optical eye that sees its reflection from a shiny floor as opposed to rug.

See if you can take a big picture like this and post it.

Name:  vac.jpg
Views: 85
Size:  33.7 KB
 
  #6  
Old 05-02-17, 06:45 AM
Y
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
This is a Shark Rocket Model HV301 26. That is a link to the vacuum on amazon, they must have discontinued it because I can't find anything on Shark's website. If there is any kind of sensor it definitely does not work.

Thank you to everyone that has replied. The image uploader is giving me a hard time but here is a better picture of the board.
 
  #7  
Old 05-02-17, 02:56 PM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 21,113
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
I'd send a message to Shark. You have an HV300 series (301,302, etc) and just ask if repair parts are available to the consumer or if there is a service center nearby or with a description of your problem, see what they say.
 
  #8  
Old 05-02-17, 03:00 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,896
Received 1,343 Votes on 1,241 Posts
There is a gray wire labeled S1..... any idea where it goes?
S usually stands for switch.


Good picture.
If you feel energetic.... a pic of the other side.... just as big would be cool.
 
  #9  
Old 05-02-17, 06:52 PM
Y
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Here is a bunch of pics. The only place a I see the gray wire going is the connection it makes with the board and where it heads back up towards the connection to the rest of the vacuum.

Would be fun to fix this if I can.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: