Hotpoint electric stove won't pass Preheat stage?


  #1  
Old 06-27-17, 02:04 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: United States
Posts: 892
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hotpoint electric stove won't pass Preheat stage?

Hotpoint electric stove. The oven is stuck on PREHEAT and won't go past it. It was working a week ago fine.

Time to get a new stove?
 
  #2  
Old 06-27-17, 02:09 PM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 9,029
Received 76 Votes on 69 Posts
Post model number and we can look at what you have. Model # usually found in drawer area.
 
  #3  
Old 06-27-17, 04:11 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,522
Received 1,595 Votes on 1,470 Posts
If it's stuck in preheat then it could be a defective element.
Are the top burners working ok ?
 
  #4  
Old 06-28-17, 03:23 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: United States
Posts: 892
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If it's stuck in preheat then it could be a defective element.
Are the top burners working ok ?
Yes, all top burners are working.

MODEL NO - R B7877W H1WW - it's a HOTPOINT
 
  #5  
Old 06-28-17, 08:29 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,522
Received 1,595 Votes on 1,470 Posts
When in bake mode.... do you feel any increase in heat inside the oven ?
Check and see if broil mode works.

There are two heating elements. The top on is broil and the bottom one is bake.
Some ovens use both elements to preheat.
 
  #6  
Old 06-28-17, 09:46 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: United States
Posts: 892
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
When in bake mode.... do you feel any increase in heat inside the oven ?
Check and see if broil mode works.

There are two heating elements. The top on is broil and the bottom one is bake.
Some ovens use both elements to preheat.
Broil works fine - it gets HOT. When in Preheat for BAKE, the bottom one doesn't get HOT at all.
 
  #7  
Old 06-28-17, 11:19 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,522
Received 1,595 Votes on 1,470 Posts
Your next step is to disconnect power to the range.
Carefully pull the lower heating element out slightly until you can get to the wiring.
Check with an ohmmeter for continuity. The element should measure only a few ohms.
 
  #8  
Old 06-28-17, 02:29 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: United States
Posts: 892
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks PjMax!! It's FIXED!! It was the BAKE Element! I went down to a local parts supply store and bought one for $50 and put it in. Works Great again!

Thanks for all your help! I didn't have to buy a new stove!! YAY!!

While I was in there I think I noticed a light, but it doesn't work. Do ovens have lights?
 
  #9  
Old 06-28-17, 03:14 PM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 9,029
Received 76 Votes on 69 Posts
Some ovens have lights, likely bulb burnt out.
 
  #10  
Old 06-28-17, 07:06 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: United States
Posts: 892
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
How important is the insulation behind the light fixture? I took the assembly out and put in a new 40 watt appliance bulb, bu the insulation kind of disingrated.
 
  #11  
Old 06-28-17, 07:20 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,522
Received 1,595 Votes on 1,470 Posts
If there is a glass dome over the bulb.... it's fine.
 
  #12  
Old 06-28-17, 10:44 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: United States
Posts: 892
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If there is a glass dome over the bulb.... it's fine.
Won't heat escape without it there?
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: