Kenmore Elite Vacuum Model 31150

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-10-18, 04:27 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: WI
Posts: 99
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Kenmore Elite Vacuum Model 31150

Does anyone know where I could find a replacement roller brush for my Kenmore Elite vacuum? I took it in to our local repair shop and they said they couldn't find one. He indicated that I should replace my vacuum with a Riccar vacuum. Sears has one but it is $145 which I thought was really expensive.

My vacuum is still rated #1 by Consumers Reports so I'd like to repair the vacuum that I have. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
 
  #2  
Old 04-10-18, 04:47 PM
P
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 24,433
Received 749 Votes on 688 Posts
To be clear you are saying that the part is $145 not the cost of the other vacuum recommended to you. If you don't like the price from Sears you can check Ebay and/or keep an eye on yard sales.
 
  #3  
Old 04-10-18, 05:19 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,824
Received 1,330 Votes on 1,229 Posts
That's one of the pet friendly uprights.
I need the full part number for parts research. It will look like xxx.xxxxxxxxx
 
  #4  
Old 04-10-18, 05:20 PM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 9,029
Received 75 Votes on 68 Posts
Post model # and we might be able to help. There will be a tag on vacuum and # will look like this
XXX XXXXX Do not forget the first 3 numbers.
 
  #5  
Old 04-10-18, 05:58 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: WI
Posts: 99
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yup, the part is $140 something.
 
  #6  
Old 04-10-18, 06:02 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: WI
Posts: 99
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
$145 seems like a lot for just the roller brush
 
  #7  
Old 04-10-18, 06:08 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: WI
Posts: 99
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The model # is 116.31150311. The part # is KC92SDWFZ000.
 

Last edited by merrym100; 04-10-18 at 06:09 PM. Reason: typo
  #8  
Old 04-10-18, 06:12 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: WI
Posts: 99
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The exact price from Sears is $142.97 which just seems so expensive.
 
  #9  
Old 04-10-18, 06:12 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,824
Received 1,330 Votes on 1,229 Posts
Guessing at the model number........116.31150313.

That would use an OEM part # KC92SDWFZ000
That is not just a brush. That is a beater bar/motor combination and yes..... it is around $145.
You can google the part number to find different online retailers. Amazon lists it.

At $200-225 for a new vacuum... it hardly seems worth it.
Are you sure it's bad ?
It may not be getting power unless you can see it's physically damaged.
 
  #10  
Old 04-10-18, 07:55 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: WI
Posts: 99
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
For some reason a lot of the bristles are missing. I am not sure what would have caused this.
 
  #11  
Old 04-10-18, 08:05 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,824
Received 1,330 Votes on 1,229 Posts
Sounds like it's just worn out. A repair would be a toss up.
 
  #12  
Old 04-10-18, 08:32 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: WI
Posts: 99
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
What brand would be good? Riccar? Miele? Simplicity? The sears elite is rated the best on Consumers Reports but all of the Sears stores near me have closed.
 
  #13  
Old 03-31-20, 12:41 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I have this exact model number vacuum cleaner: 116-31150313. I am struggling to get at the drive belt. There are seven screws holding the bottom on. The YouTube video shows a similar unit with only 4 screws. So I'm not sure how to proceed. How do I get at the brush after I take out the screws? I think I need to replace the drive belt since the brush won't turn.

Thanks
 
  #14  
Old 03-31-20, 04:21 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,824
Received 1,330 Votes on 1,229 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

Did you look closely at the brush..... do you see a belt ?
Did you read thru this thread ? Particularly post #9.

If you have the same exact model number as the unit in this thread..... then you do not have a belt.
 
  #15  
Old 03-31-20, 06:20 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thank you Pete - I have changed the drive belt on a Hoover, we had. You are correct. I have not seen a belt. However, there is no real clear viewing as there was with the Hoover. Obviously, purchasing this beater bar/motor combination is not cost effective. Amazon does list it. However there is no price and it is now unavailable. Looks like we will be buying a new vacuum cleaner.

Thanks for your response. Eventually, I hope to learn my way around this forum.
Jack
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: