Hoover wind tunnel 2 power button

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-11-19, 01:05 AM
Andoy33's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 158
Received 5 Votes on 5 Posts
Hoover wind tunnel 2 power button

hello everyone I was vacuuming my super dusty desk today with the hose for 20 minutes and turn off my vacuum then noticed the power button was really hot then when I flip the switch on it flips back to off like there’s a spring on the power button. Is my vacuum overheated or is the button broken ? I cleaned all the filters and bins but still no luck. I also cleaned the hose as well to make sure there’s no dust clogged up in there.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-11-19, 03:33 AM
B
Member
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Ct.,USA
Posts: 1,782
Received 88 Votes on 77 Posts
Switch is defective. Contact Hoover or a small appliance repair shop for a replacement switch.
 
  #3  
Old 02-11-19, 08:33 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,148
Received 1,113 Votes on 1,033 Posts
You could post the model number for us for further comment.
Amazon has quite a few listed on their site.... Hoover replacement switches
 
  #4  
Old 02-11-19, 05:26 PM
Andoy33's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 158
Received 5 Votes on 5 Posts
i contacted hoover and told me the replacement switch they sold was 25 dollars while i found one on amazon for 6 dollars that matched my model number thanks to Pjmax help. it isnt prime furfilled so it will take 3 weeks. meanwhile i shall use my roomba 960 that i got for Christmas with its new smart navigation and give that a try.
 
  #5  
Old 03-25-19, 01:23 AM
Andoy33's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 158
Received 5 Votes on 5 Posts
My power button arrived and I installed it and when I flipped the switch on the vacuum runs for 5 seconds and it shuts off on its own. Did I do something wrong ? I attached the wires the same way the old power button was.
 
  #6  
Old 03-25-19, 05:12 PM
B
Member
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Ct.,USA
Posts: 1,782
Received 88 Votes on 77 Posts
What shuts off on its own, switch or vacuum motor? You need a multimeter to make some electrical measurements. Around here you can get one for free at Harbor Freight (sells for $6) with a coupon and a purchase.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: