Replacing OTR microwave with hood


  #1  
Old 08-29-23, 06:35 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 421
Received 3 Upvotes on 3 Posts
Replacing OTR microwave with hood

I want to replace the OTR microwave we have with a vent hood. My only concern is that there might be a gap there where the hood goes up into the cabinet above the microwave. What is the best approach to filling that area? Is there a solid hood that would fill that like 12 inches of space or something?
 
  #2  
Old 08-29-23, 09:02 AM
P
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 27,522
Received 2,118 Upvotes on 1,897 Posts
I don't know what "gap" you are referring to??? There is almost always a cabinet directly above a OTR mictrowave that hides the ducting and sometimes provides a mounting location.

We don't know what you are removing or installing so... everything depends on what you have. Most economical vent hoods have the blower contained in the hood. The duct connection most often comes out the top though many can be piped different ways. You probably will have to do some ducting work to change between two different hoods.
 
  #3  
Old 08-29-23, 05:02 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 64,639
Received 3,897 Upvotes on 3,494 Posts
It would best to post a picture for us to clarify....... How to insert pictures.

Typically you would remove the microwave/exhaust combo and then mount the new range hood up to where the microwave was. If that makes the hood to high then you will need to build an extension box where the front of the box matches the existing cabinetry.

You could install a 2x4 on each side of the cabinet to attach the hood to and then a filler piece for the front.
 

Last edited by PJmax; 08-29-23 at 05:20 PM.
  #4  
Old 09-06-23, 12:44 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 421
Received 3 Upvotes on 3 Posts
Sorry, Yeah there is a cabinet that covers the vent line. I didn't realize that the hood took up the same space as the microwave. It's a standard 30-inch space.
 
  #5  
Old 09-06-23, 03:29 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 64,639
Received 3,897 Upvotes on 3,494 Posts
Ok.... so do you still have a question ?
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: