Is this awesome instructables project safe?


  #1  
Old 02-03-16, 01:29 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 12
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Lightbulb Is this awesome instructables project safe?

I'd like to hear from the electricians before tackling this great project.

Web Controlled 8-Channel Powerstrip - All

Thanks to the masters,
D
 
  #2  
Old 02-03-16, 04:00 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 15,112
Received 660 Upvotes on 560 Posts
Issue #1: Box is not a UL listed enclosure.

Issue #2: 18ga wire is too small. All the wire should be 14ga for a 15 amp circuit or there should be some type of overcurrent protection (fuse) to protect the 18ga wire.

Issue #3: There is low voltage and high voltage in the same enclosure. And what is with the goofy plug inside the box for the transformer?

Issue #4: Cord should be minimum 14ga wires.

Issue #5: I could not see the ratings but the relays need to be rated for 15 amps.

It is an interesting home project but it is not something that would pass an inspection. If you do decide to make one I would suggest installing an inline fuse on the black wire of the cord and install a 15 amp or less fuse. With that many receptacle available I could see it getting overloaded quite easy.
 

Last edited by Tolyn Ironhand; 02-03-16 at 07:11 PM.
  #3  
Old 02-03-16, 04:29 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 12
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thank you Tony. Your response is very helpful specially the inline fuse suggestion. Would you place the fuse right before the the connection to the red wires?
 
  #4  
Old 02-03-16, 05:53 PM
F
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,495
Received 37 Upvotes on 29 Posts
Tony? How do you get Tony out of Tolyn? And, as I recall, his real name is Scott.
 
  #5  
Old 02-03-16, 06:15 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 12
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Yikes I fudged! I must have read it too quickly. Sorry, Tolyn. I still value your expertise.
 
  #6  
Old 02-03-16, 07:10 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 15,112
Received 660 Upvotes on 560 Posts
How do you get Tony out of Tolyn?
I have been called Tony more times then I can count. People must just read it quick. Yes, I go by Scott in "Real Life"

Install a inline fuse holder on the hot (black) wire of the input cord.

Name:  fuse.jpg
Views: 179
Size:  26.0 KB

Fuse holder: http://www.littelfuse.com/~/media/el...asheet.pdf.pdf
 
  #7  
Old 02-03-16, 08:32 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 12
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
thank you, Scott. I will definitely add the inline fuse to the design.
 
  #8  
Old 02-06-16, 02:06 PM
L
Member
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1,816
Received 177 Upvotes on 152 Posts
Install re-settable fuse/breaker instead of fuse. Many power strips have a small breaker.
That way you can easily reset from overload.

Something like this.
http://www.digikey.com/product-detai...069-ND/1628640
 
  #9  
Old 02-06-16, 02:47 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,575
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
Install re-settable fuse/breaker
Fuses are fuses. Breakers are breakers. They work in different ways. What is a fuse.breaker?
 
  #10  
Old 02-06-16, 04:18 PM
L
Member
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1,816
Received 177 Upvotes on 152 Posts
What is a fuse.breaker?
I meant resettable fuse or breaker. Although resettable fuse actually is a breaker, some manufactuers call them resettable fuse.
Not to be confused with PTC, which are also called resettable fuse some times.
 
  #11  
Old 02-06-16, 06:19 PM
D
Member
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 4,946
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I suppose you could build this thing for under $100, but there are existing products that do this.

Robot Check

Robot Check

Those are two inexpensive items I found on Amazon. Search for IP managed power strip.

If you build, don't buy the cheapest outlets. Get the preferred level. It matters.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: