Voltage for an industrial freezer

Old 02-19-16, 09:36 AM
T
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Voltage for an industrial freezer

Hi all,
I'm a teacher at a small high school and we are planning on starting a culinary program here in the next couple of years. The "when" is dependent on grant funding we haven't received yet, so everything is pretty theoretical right now. I'm trying to iron out as many details as I can in advance, and one thing that's come up is that we will have to install an industrial freezer in order to meet food safety requirements. It's the understanding of some of my colleagues that industrial freezers use a higher voltage than ordinary freezers. I don't know much about electrical issues. Here are my questions:

1) Is it true for all industrial freezers that they require a higher voltage?
2) How hard would it be to install an outlet for such a freezer (220v I think)?
3) Would it be best to have a professional do it, and if so, how much would that sort of thing cost?

The kitchen would most likely be installed in a portable building where we already have a small kitchen area (two sinks, a fridge, some hot plates). The school has two portables and one permanent building, so if for some reason installing in the portable wouldn't work, we could look at doing it in the permanent building, though space would be an issue.

Thanks for any advice.

Old 02-19-16, 10:07 AM
G
Received 2 Upvotes on 2 Posts
Welcome to the forums.
In order to be of service, we need to know the specs of the intended freezer(s). What voltage they require and the amperage draw.
Running new electric service - especially to a school - will require a licensed electrician, probable permits etc.
You don't say if the intended location already has 240 volt service or if it need to be pulled from a remote source.
Let us know when you have some facts and we can then better help you.

Old 02-19-16, 10:13 AM
L
Received 201 Upvotes on 172 Posts