Kitchen Electrical Layout Help Needed

Old 03-25-16, 11:41 AM
R
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Question Kitchen Electrical Layout Help Needed

Need some help with kitchen circuitry.

I'm updating some of the existing electrical in my kitchen and I want help understanding what should be on its own circuit, etc. I have some electrical experience so i'm going off of rusty knowledge. Here are the things I'm looking to get updated:
-Outlets on countertops/Appliances
-Microwave
-Gas Stove
-Refrigerator
-Dishwasher
-Food Disposal
-Instant Hot

If you had all of these items, how would you wire them all? What would share circuitry? What would have its own? Would you use 15 amp/20 amp for various connections? I am in the USA.

Outlets/Appliances
From what I recall, you need 2-20amp circuits for countertop appliance outlets, and they must be GFI protected. Is this correct? So half the outlets on 1 circuit, and half on the other?

Microwave and Gas Stove
-Can these 2 share 1-20amp circuit? The gas stove is a minimal draw, but I think I remember some saying these should be separate. Can they be together or must they be on their own? Or can 1 of these units share a circuit with something else?

Refrigerator
Can this share with anything or must it be on its own circuit? 15amp or 20amp? Can this be run off the appliance circuit?

Dishwasher
Does the dishwasher need its own circuit or can it share with anything? 15 amp ok? If it can share, what can it share with (Food Disposal or Instant Hot)?

Food Garbage Disposal and Instant Hot Water
My garbage disposal pulls 7 amps (7 amps x 120 volts = 840 watts). Instant Hot is a 1300 watt unit (11amps I think). Can these share a 20amp circuit? Or should they be on separate 15 amp circuits, or share with something else? Or a 12-3 line?

All tips appreciated!

Old 03-25-16, 11:55 AM
I
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 45 Upvotes on 43 Posts